Recent Searches

Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

star-4.5179 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Taormina, Italy
Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Book it for Tomorrow and Explore Europe’s largest active volcano this day trip to Mt Etna from Taormina. Relax with transportation to the base station of Rifugio Sapienza and then take off through the foothills for some time to spend hiking at your leisure. Alternatively, upgrade your ticket for a trip up to the upper craters and a guided walking tour through the volcanic craters. Soak up scenic views from the UNESCO-listed spot before concluding with transportation back to Taormina.
  • Travel to Etna’s base station at Rifugio Sapienza
  • Enjoy time at leisure to trek around the foothills of Mount Etna
  • See the famous Monti Silvestri Craters near Rifugio Sapienza
  • Optional upgrade to visit Mount Etna up to 3000 meters height with an Alpine guide
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional multilingual guide
Food and drinks
Wind jackets and boots rental
  • Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c , Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy

    Departure for all tours is from the main Bus Terminal in Via Pirandello. Pick up is also available along the coast at Taormina by the sea, Letojanni and Giardini Naxos. Customers are invited to contact for information about pick up.The coach is silver with a SAT logo in red.

  • Recanati Bus Terminal , Viale Dionisio, 12, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy

    Customers are obligated to contact SAT Group for information about pick up.

  • Letojanni , 98037 Letojanni, Metropolitan City of Messina, Italy

    Customers are obligated to contact SAT Group for information about pick up.

  • 8:30 AM
    This activity will end right where it started.
    Hop aboard your coach in central Taormina and travel one hour inland to Mount Etna. Set in the middle of a national park, the notoriously active volcano dominates the surrounding landscape.

    Step out at Rifugio Sapienza, the volcano’s base station. Your host will point you in the direction of the impressive Monti Silvestri Craters before you take off exploring the foothills at your own speed. Discover the myriad hiking trails along the way and soak up incredible views from all over the national park. When you’ve worked up an appetite, head to Rifugio Sapienza’s restaurant (own expense), located conveniently nearby.

    Alternatively, upgrade your experience with a guided trip to the volcano’s upper crater. Travel up by cable car and then by jeep to the crater zones at roughly 9,800 feet (3,000 meters). Led by licensed guides from the Italian Alpine Club, admire the craters and take in panoramic views.

    Your tour will conclude with transportation back to Taormina.
    Pass By:  
    Giardini Naxos
    Pick up point only on request.
    Pass By:  
    Pick up point only on request.
    Pass By:  
    Pick up only on request.
    Stop At:  
    Mount Etna
    Visit Sicily’s famously fiery volcano, the magnificent Mount Etna, on a day trip from Taormina.
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    Stop At:  
    Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
    Reach Rifugio Sapienza 1900 meters
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Included
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Warm clothes and comfortable shoes are recommended
    • Please contact the supplier to reconfirm the excursion at least the day before and to get more information about the closest pick-up point
    • The high-altitude ascents are not indicated for heart passengers, asthmatics and pregnant women.
    • Please note that for your safety, all excursions to Etna do not reach the edge of the main craters and customers are always kept on a safety zone.
    • This tour is operated in English, German, Italian. All 3 languages will be spoken during the tour.
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Infant seats available
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • The cost of the excursion to Etna, ascent inclusive, has a special price valid only with advance reservation. When buying the ascent on board, the cost will be higher: Euro 62,00 for the adults and Euro 45,00 for the children.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
    A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.
    What is the policy on sanitization during Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips

    • "We stayed a couple of nights in Taormina and this was well worth it." See review
    • "Amazing views and if you go the extra to 3000 meters you are almost at the top of the mountain." See review

    Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews


    179 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 179 reviews
    Cirillo family vacation
    , Aug 2022
    Going to the upper crater and seeing all the other craters and going on the lift. Was cool up there so bring a sweater or sweatshirt
    A memorable and exciting trip to Mount Etna.
    , Jul 2022
    Really good day out. Entertaining, friendly guide and a very skilled coach driver. Stunning views from the top of the cable car. Interesting and informative guide taking us to the craters edge. Plenty of free time to explore on our own and experience the awesome landscape. Definitely recommend this tour.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    This is exactly what we aim to offer to our dear customers: a pleasant day out full of information and beautiful sceneries that will remain in the their memory for ever. The best way to explore Sicily is taking our day tours to the best destinations in Sicily. Thank you for sharing! Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Great day
    , Jun 2022
    It would have been good to hear more about Sicily and the inhabitants livelyhoods generally and how eruptions affect the population beneath the volcano. Some more geological information would have been appreciated. Otherwise it was very good, to time and courteous
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Hello, customers are always welcomed to ask the tour guide for more information. Tour guides and alpine guides are always at customers' disposal. Now it is too late to ask, unfortunately.... We hope you will come back and get more! Regards, SAT Group Customer Care Manager
    A day well spent
    , Jun 2022
    This trip to Mt Etna is a day well spent. Our guide on the Mountain spoke English well and was very informative. I purchased this excursion mostly for my husband but found it to be just as pleasurable for me as it was for him. Not something I ever had on my bucket list but really glad we did it.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    That's so nice to read! Thank you so much! Warm regards, SAT Group
    Great trip to edna
    , Jun 2022
    We had a great trip from start to Finnish. Our guide was very informative and helpful. We would visit again
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Great news! Thanks for sharing...
    Our trip to Mt Etna!
    , May 2022
    The fact that we could get so close was wonderful!! It was very well organized, and the restaurant had goo food too! An added plus!!
    Nice view, but the german...
    , Oct 2021
    Nice view, but the german tourguide doesnt speak english very well. Busdriver was very gold. Everyone should go to the Etna
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    Dear Customer, we are sorry if you were not totally satisfied with the English of one of our tour guides. We are always trying to have the best training for our internal guides. See you soon on board! Regards, Customer Care Manager SAT Group
    Decent for the bus ride, but there are better options.
    , Sep 2021
    Decent all-in-one Etna trip including bus from Taormina, Cablecar-Tickets and a short Bus ride farther up the mountain. If you're just looking to see mount Etna, this is a convenient solution. I was however disappointed by the soul-less lecture of our guide - sure, doing three languages at once isn't easy, but if you're just gonna sound like reading bits of a Wikipedia article then I can do that myself. The guide seemed more interested to sell extended packages including the cable-car ride to those who hadn't done so yet anyways, promising a ride up to 3000 meters, conveniently omitting that due to recent eruptions the things you can do on top of the mountain are severely limited. The hike on top of the mountain then again was great, the alpine guides there really know what they're talking about, they're very enthusiastic, and great at answering questions. However the "hike" was also really short, barely half an hour, if that. Long story short, whilst Etna surely is a must-see, book a more personalized tour with a smaller group if you want to get the most out of it.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    You were absolutely invited to ask for more information from the tour guide. It is trylly difficult for our guides to explain everything in three languages and, of course, they have to follow a certain schedule. Regarding the hike on Mount Etna, it is more like a walk than a trekking since our tour is suitable to all kinds of ages and athletic levels. Regards.
    Lovely trip but a little twist
    , Aug 2021
    It was a very nice trip and I loved it there. But there is one thing, the description says you go up to 3300 meters. But on the tour they told up they didn't go further then 2750 meter. Cause of safety reasons, still a really nice trip but I advise you change it in your description of the trip.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    Never written 3300 meters, maybe 3000 on same descriptions of past years. Now we are assisting to a new eruption and there is a limit of 2800 meters we cannot overcome for safety reasons. Nothing to do about it, only to respect it since no one can joke with a volcano. Alpine guides are very strict on that. Warm regards.
    breathtaking ecperience
    , Jul 2021
    Our busguide was a humoristic man wil told all languages..a lott about the island. The trip with the bus , 4 Wheel drive bus and cable was also a part of the ecperience . The landscape and the vieuw above are stunning. I would like to had more time above. We could not go up to the top because of the activity but we knew this . But it was a beautifill and wel organised day
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Hi Inge_B, we really hope you have the chance to come back and see Etna at the best and at the top! We are looking forward to welcoming you, meanwhile we thank you for your lovely review. Regards. Customer Care Manager - SAT Group
    Trip at the Etna
    , Aug 2020
    It was an impressive trip up the mountain by bus, cableway and jeep. The people speak english quite well so it was easy to understand. The walk around one of the craters was intens with a lot of cold wind. But very interesting! We really needed the jackets that we've rented. After the jeepride back we walked down to the beginning of the cableway. We really loved the views!!
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
    Hello Cyns, receiving your review is so rewarding ! Thank you for the precious tips for other potential customers. All teh very best. SAT Group staff Customer Care Manager
    , Nov 2019
    Didn't realise how commercialised etna was. Nice courier, big coach, view was fantastic from the top, we were lucky, no clouds. Enjoyable trip.
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Hello, it is quite normal that the highest volcano in Europe is considered an important destination for tours and activities. At least you were lucky with the weather and the visibility was fine. We send you our best. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Worst travel experience ever
    , Oct 2019
    Was no more than a very expensive return bus trip. Poorly organised, long queues, all very rushed and chaotic.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
    Dear Customer, we are surprised to read your very short review that describes without giving further details on the organization, in order to better understand your points. We are sorry if the tour did not meet your expectations. Regarding the queues, it would have been better for you to choose the Etna Sunset Tour with small numbers and no chaos at all. Maybe next time you can experience a different mood on Mount Etna. Greetings from Taormina, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Great attraction badly organised
    Catherine D
    , Sep 2019
    The trip up Mount Etna is well worth it. Amazing views and if you go the extra to 3000 meters you are almost at the top of the mountain. The only thing which let our tour down was the lack of organization. The ticket booth and cable car entry is quite narrow and chaotic. Out tour guide told us to wait for her and then at the top rushed off with half the group to pick up the guide leaving the rest of us behind to sort out our own tour of the craters. I think it actually worked out better for us so my tip is to go round by yourself.
    Over crowded - more transit than volcano
    , Sep 2019
    We paid for the full tour of the cable car and 4x4. We were collected late at 9am then spent almost 2 hours driving to the volcano - we had to wait to get on the cable car and when we got to the top we had to wait over an hour for the 4x4 to get to the top of the volcano. We spent so much time waiting that when we got to the top we had to come straight back down to get the bus by 2:15 or be left behind. Not enough time to even walk around at the top. Not to mention the rudeness of the lady hosting our group. I had taken two children and she had a crack at my parenting for bringing two young children on the tour without proper clothing. When I was trying to ask and determine if I could hire clothes or not she just kept having a go at me as a parent. I ended in tears. I would never put my kids at risk and I just wanted to have a conversation with her without her being rude and disrespectful to me. Complete waste of money and time , so disorganised and way too crowded. In all my travels I’ve never seen a natural attraction so crowded: better off just going yourself and taking your time so you can see everything at your pace and if you have to wait (because it is nature and you don’t know) then you can wait and still experience the sight without being rushed back.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Dear Fran_P, Etna is always very crowded unless is visited during the vening time during our Etna Sunset Tour. It can also happen that the coach can be a bit late during the peak season, in any case you are mentioning a normal delay. Regarding our guide, we are sorry to read that you felt uneasy. It is quite strange that you felt judged, our guides always stress the necessity of cover children and kids at the best, since it can be very cold and windy at the top of Etna and that was the case. We are sorry if our guide seemed tough to you. In any case we were at your disposal at our agency at any time to hear your comments. We are sorry you did not call us and you did not show up. We hope we can have a second chance! Warm regards, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Valley of Temples and Villa Romana del Casale
    , Aug 2019
    Very informative and well led tour with a caring staff. For those without an automobile, the tour is a very good value since both sites can be visited within a day tour. The only negative is that more time is required to see Villa Romana del Casale than was provided.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Hello is true in Sicily you need days longer than 24 hours to see all the treasures with time and relax. We thank you for sharing your important feedback. All the best, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Mt Etna from Taormina
    , Aug 2019
    We stayed a couple of nights in Taormina and this was well worth it. A wonderful old town and we went to the opera one evening in the old Greek Amphitheatre. The Etna trip was well organized and was good value. Unfortunately the mountain had erupted a couple of days before we got there so there was no trip to the actual crater, for safety reasons. The guides took us as high as they were permitted. We enjoyed the trip.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Hi Sightse... this is a good oppportunity to come back and enjoy the ascent to the highest active volcano in Europe. We wait for you! See you soon, Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Great trip
    , Jul 2019
    We went on the upper craters trip which was a great experience. It obviously costs more but I’m not sure the trip is worth doing if you just go to the base station. If you do that, you will basically be left in a coach park surrounded by souvenir shops and food outlets, and left to wander around the lower slopes for an hour. You can walk further up but that would be hard work given conditions underfoot and under the Sicilian sun. The upper trip involves going up the cable car and then being driven further up in rough terrain vehicles. Once near the top, you then get a guided tour around the upper craters (note the tour does not go to the very top crater, too risky - you are about 350 metres below the very top). Amazing views, fascinating landscape. Only hitch was our coach was a little late at the start of the trip (20 minutes) due to traffic, but other than that it was extremely well organised with very clear instructions provided in Italian and English.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
    Hello Palmtre...thank you for your detailed review that explains exactly our schedule on Mount Etna for our Basic Tour. Regarding delay, trafic at 8.30 am can be sometimes a real problem, as you underline, not easy to follow the schedule, but we give our best to make it! Warm regards form Taormina. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
    Mt. Etna
    , May 2019
    This was a great day excursion. Our guide, Aleksandra, was very pleasant, informative and knowledgable. Unfortunately, the weather was not good. I wish they would have given us the option to decide if we still wanted to go all the way to the top knowing that we couldn't see 2 feet in front of us. I probably would have chosen to go to the 2 lower craters( one of which is a 25 minute walk up). Really nothing to see at the top. If I were to do this again, I would not book in advance and decide upon arrival if I wanted to spend the extra money to go up. No need to do this if there's nothing to see.
    Failed to provide tour as booked with Viator
    Peter S
    , Oct 2018
    We had booked a tour to visit the upper crater but Viator failed to deliver the tour and put us on a foothills tour. Viator failed to offer a refund. Overall spoilt the trip and would recommend not booking the upper crater tour as waste of money.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Hello, that's very strange since you can upgrade the tour to the upper craters at any time, even at the last second. We hope for a next chance. Geetings from Taormina. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina
    Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina


    8 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    9 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations