Recent Searches

Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour

star-4.550 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Bolans, Caribbean
Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 travelers1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Get the perfect introduction to the history and scenic beauty of Antigua during this 3.5-hour tour of its top attractions. During your visit you’ll stop by Nelson’s Dockyard National Park, a colonial-era naval base and renowned yachting location, taking some time to browse the area’s unique shops and art galleries, then stop by the picturesque Blockhouse Ruins and finish your day with panoramic views from Shirley Heights. Your Antigua visit also includes round-trip transportation from the port and all entrance fees.
  • Island shore excursion of Antigua
  • See Nelson's Dockyard National Park and English Harbour
  • Stunning ocean views
  • Relaxing stroll by the water
  • Complimentary port pickup and drop off
  • Covered by Viator's worry-free guarantee: on-time return to your ship
Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
Port pickup and drop off
  • Cocobay Resort - All Inclusive - Adults Only , Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's Antigua
  • Tamarind Hills , Saint Mary's Antigua
  • COCOS Hotel Antigua , Valley Church Beach, Jolly Harbour Antigua
  • Antigua Cruise Port , 4593+VJX, Thames St, St John's, Antigua and Barbuda
  • 9:00 AM
    For travelers from the Cruise Ships our driver will meet them at The Beehive Restaurant located east of Colombian Emeralds Store at Heritage Quay. He will have a sign (usually PINK) with their name(s). For travelers whose cruise ship docks at Nevis Street pier our driver will meet you just outside of the Security Check point. For travelers vacationing on island, our driver will pick them up from the hotel's lobby. We pick up from ALL hotels. Please note, if boking is made within 24hours of travel date, tour will start at 10:00am and not 9:00am
    Sample the top historical sights and lush tropical beauty of Antigua on this 3.5-hour port-of-call tour covering the island’s top cultural and natural attractions. 

    Start with a 9am pickup from the cruise ship pier, continuing on with your guide to Nelson’s Dockyard National Park. This one-time British naval site now offers a wealth of historic and modern amenities. Admire the glamorous luxury yachts that now line its marina, before taking time to check out the art galleries and colonial-era structures such as Admiral’s Inn, the Copper and Lumber Store, the Sailmaker’s Loft that line the harbor shore. 

    Then head over to the Blockhouse Ruins, a scenic overlook offering fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean and Indian Creek, and on a clear day, the nearby island of Monserrat in the distance. Finish your excursion with a stop at Shirley Heights, another hilltop historic site with fantastic views of Nelson’s Dockyard down below.

    Conclude your island trip with a return to your port-of-call to meet your cruise ship.

    Worry-free Shore Excursion:

    We will ensure your excursion ends with ample time for you to return to St John's for your ship’s departure. In the rare event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port-of-call. See our terms and conditions for full details.
    Stop At:  
    Shirley Heights
    Drive up to Shirley Heights and stroll around the old military fortifications. You can view breathtaking scenic landscapes at 360 degrees. A spectacular view over English Harbour and Falmouth Harbour greets your eyes and on a clear day the neighboring islands of Montserrat and Guadeloupe can be seen.
    Duration: 20 minutes
    Admission Ticket Free
    Stop At:  
    Nelson's Dockyard
    The dockyard got its name from Admiral Horatio Nelson, a British naval officer who lived in this Royal Navy Dockyard from 1784 through 1787. Fully restored to its original splendour, the eighteenth- and nineteenth-century buildings of the Dockyard house modern amenities such as shops, hotels, and marina businesses. Nelson’s Dockyard provides many sites and activities for visitors to explore and enjoy. Nested in the Park you can browse the Dockyard Museum, located in the former Admiral’s House. The Museum presents visitors with exhibits regarding the Dockyard’s history and current archaeological research on the island. The Copper and Lumber Store Hotel offers five-star accommodations and is a magnificent venue for special occasions is also located in the Dockyard. While there visit the gift shops and art galleries. Nelson’s Dockyard National Park, which also contains Clarence House and Shirley Heights, and is the only UNESCO World Heritage Site of the country.
    Duration: 30 minutes
    Admission Ticket Included
    Stop At:  
    Devil's Bridge
    Devil’s Bridge is an actual bridge formed by thousands of years of ancient reef formation and erosion. The Atlantic’s waves have constantly crashed into the limestone rocks, which has created a natural arch filled with geysers and blowholes over time. Waves continue to break against these same coastal limestone rocks, and it is a stunning natural phenomenon.
    Duration: 15 minutes
    Admission Ticket Free
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infant seats available
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 4 travelers
    • OPERATED BY National Tours
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour.
    What is the policy on sanitization during Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour.
    What is the social distancing policy during Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour.
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour?
    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    See all safety measures taken by Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips

    • "The stop at Nelson's Dockyard should be extended a few minutes in order to view the ships." See review

    Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews


    50 Reviews
    1 star

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews
    Beautiful Views
    , Apr 2022
    If you’re short on time but want to make the most of this amazing island, consider spending a few hours on the Round Island tour. You will be whisked off to the most beautiful lookouts in all of Antigua, as well as riding through the many unique villages!
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Thank you for your reviews on our beautiful island, where land and sea makes beauty and the beach is just the beginning. We are happy to know that you had an amazing day on this tour.
    Great island tour
    , Apr 2022
    A great tour of the island visiting the main sights including Nelsons Yard, Shirley Heights etc. Our driver, Vernon, was excellent. A really nice, interesting guy who immediately made us feel comfortable. He was also an excellent driver. The only negative was that the tour operator gave us different meeting points so we didn’t find him for half an hour. However, this in no way affected the tour. We recommend Vernon and the tour.
    We felt like VIPs.
    , Mar 2020
    My Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our excursion. Our driver Cyril was courteous and friendly and provided us with a wealth of information, as he drove us to places of interest. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    As advertised
    , Mar 2020
    This tour was just as described. Lionel was an excellent and well informed driver and guide. The stop at Nelson's Dockyard should be extended a few minutes in order to view the ships.
    Nice overall island excursion
    , Mar 2020
    Our tour guide was given the wrong pier docking point for us to meet up with him. It ended up with a wasted 30 minutes trying to connect with our driver. Overall it was a nice excursion but left us with little time to spend at the port before having to get back to the ship.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Exceptional Private Tour of Antigua
    , Oct 2019
    Cyril (sp?) Met us as promised and gave us an informative island wide tour in his GMC Suburban. He was knowledgeable, engaging and funny. I can't stress enough how good this tour was and how our guide was one of the best we have had on our many tours!
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    We had a bad start which turned out...
    , Apr 2018
    We had a bad start which turned out to be a fantastic tour. Our booking said the start time of the tour was 9 a.m, but we could not find anyone at 9 a.m, and after phoning the office, was told the tour time had been changed to 10.30, although we had not received any notification by phone or email. We popped into a few shops and stopped at a cafe, and returned at about 10.15, and waited until 10.30. At 10.30 when I phoned again I was told the driver had been to collect us at 10.10, and because we were not there, they went without us. Eventually Gregory came for us at 11 a.m. Gregory was a delight - a friendly and charming gentleman, very knowledgeable about the island, and gave us a really great private tour for about 4 hours, including stopping for a drink and fresh fruit from a roadside stall. However, we were upset that we had wasted 2 hours of our day, which only gave us a very short time at the beautiful beach, before we had to return to our cruise ship.
    We received a tour of the island...
    Adrian F
    , Apr 2018
    We received a tour of the island, but it was a bit awkward as we were the only 2 passengers in the car. You're not in a bus, but your tour guide's personal vehicle. This tour was also really boring. You get out for a few stops, but you don't have much time to enjoy and stretch your legs. I fell asleep for the last hour of the tour. It would have been so much better if we stopped off for lunch, or had the opportunity to visit a beach and grab a drink. I don't feel like I really got to enjoy or experience Antigua.
    An extremely informative and...
    Nigel T
    , Mar 2018
    An extremely informative and excellent tour provided by Winston whose charm and local knowledge made it all the more enjoyable. Thank you Winston!
    An amazing tour. Our tour guide was...
    Sandra P
    , Mar 2018
    An amazing tour. Our tour guide was Vincent and he was absolutely a fabulous guide. Would definitely recommend our friends to book through your website. Made my birthday extra special.
    This was a really good excursion but...
    , Mar 2018
    This was a really good excursion but the meeting place wasn't clear and we had to ring the tour company to find the driver. Once this was sorted out we had a really good experience with Cyril our driver, who was very knowledgeable and polite . We were able to spend as much time as we wanted at every stop and thought this was a good value excursion.
    Our driver was knowledgeable, funny...
    Terry S
    , Mar 2018
    Our driver was knowledgeable, funny, and entertaining. The tour was excellent, well run and the lunch was fabulous!
    The sights were interesting, but our...
    Peggy B
    , Feb 2018
    The sights were interesting, but our guide was just not into it. He did loosen up and smile a bit the last half of the tour. We were disappointed with Nelson's Dockyard because we were hastily added to a large group and were unable to hear their guide, who was an employee there. We were not given tickets for drinks and were sort dumped at the restaurant, not knowing exactly what was going on. We had to make our own way back to the gate to meet our tour guide, who told us at the beginning that we had 10 minutes to do all of this. It was very frustrating, and I feel Nelson's Dockyard would have been a great place to visit under different circumstances.
    It was an excellent tour but it...
    , Feb 2018
    It was an excellent tour but it started off rough. We were supposed to meet at 9am at the Beehive Restaurant. We arrived 8:45am and one of the many taxi drivers asked if we needed anything. We thanked him and said we were waiting for a tour from National. He said the driver just left. Luckily I had brought our paperwork and the taxi driver offered to call the company. They told him they would send the driver back to get us. When the driver returned about 9:15am, he had a poster with our names on it but he said there was a mix up in that there was another van and he thought we were on that van. I did not buy the excuse and figured we were off to a bad start. However, he did give us a great tour of the island. I would recommend Viator for this tour.
    From start to finish our tour was...
    , Feb 2018
    From start to finish our tour was great. Dale our tour guide amazing , provided information, very knowledge, and willing to answer our questions. We were on a cruise. This tour company told us were to meet them...very easy...Dale was there with a sign and our name. Would recommend this tour and Viator...
    Antigua was one of the islands on...
    William H
    , Jan 2018
    Antigua was one of the islands on our Southern Caribbean Cruise. We wanted to book our own excursion rather than tour the island with a big tour group from the cruise. We had seen prior reviews about your company and Winston as the tour guide. Winston was great. He was attentive and informative. He showed the five of us all of the sites of Antigua and then when asked, recommended Hemingway's for lunch. All in all, Winston was great as was the tour and lunch. I would highly recommend booking with Viator.
    We were lucky to get Gregory as our...
    , Jan 2018
    We were lucky to get Gregory as our guide and we hit it off right away. It was a comprehensive tour complemented by a few stops for Wadadli and many laughs. Thank you Gregory, it couldn't have been better. Loved English Harbor. The Antiguan people are very kind.
    We booked this tour because we...
    Christopher T
    , Jan 2018
    We booked this tour because we wanted to see English Harbour and Nelson's dockyard as our cruise ship's excursions didn't include these. Having looked at Viator's reviews we asked for Winston and he didn't disappoint. We hadn't realised this would be a private tour and we really enjoyed it especially the visit to Nelson's dockyard.
    Our guide, Dale, did an excellent...
    , Jan 2018
    Our guide, Dale, did an excellent job taking us around the island and showing us the beautiful sights! Wonderful tour that was very informative and fun!
    We really enjoyed this tour. Our...
    Ted E. T
    , Jan 2018
    We really enjoyed this tour. Our tour company was National Tours and our driver and tour guide was Michael Mikie. Our van was immaculate and Mikie was very informative, friendly, and showed his passion for Antigua. We would highly recommend this tour for those wanting a good overview and history of Antiguia.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour
    Antigua Shore Excursion: Round Island Tour


    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    1 hour 20 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations