Recent Searches
Clear

Pompeii and Herculaneum SELECT skip the line

star-4.5146 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Sorrento, Italy
Pompeii and Herculaneum SELECT skip the line

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Uncover the archeological mysteries of Pompeii and Herculaneum on an enriching full-day excursion from Sorrento. With a knowledgeable guide, witness the devastation of Mt. Vesuvius’ ancient eruption first hand as you explore the volcanic ruins of Pompeii and Herculaneum on foot. Delve deep into the tragic history of the region, and then revitalize with a delicious Italian lunch at a traditional restaurant. Receive personalized attention from your guide on this small-group tour, limited to only 21 people.
  • Pompeii and Herculaneum day trip from Sorrento
  • Tour the ancient ruins of Pompeii and Herculaneum, two cities destroyed by the Mt. Vesuvius eruption
  • Learn about these intriguing archaeological sites from an expert guide
  • Enjoy a lunch with wine at a local Italian restaurant
  • Small-group tour limited to 21 ensures a more personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Ligh lunch with 1 glass of wine
Transport by air-conditioned minibus 21 seats
possibility to arrange hotel pick up and drop off
Skip the line tickets in Pompeii and Herculaneum
Hairbio Salon , Via Correale, 40, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy

Meeting by the Achille Lauro parking area in Sorrento at 09:00am Hotel pick up , if possible, is available on request by email. Thank you!

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Climb aboard your comfortable, air-conditioned minibus at a central Sorrento location, or arrange for hotel pickup, before you relax during the scenic journey to Pompeii and Herculaneum, two ancient cities devastated by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in AD 79. 

Feel your excitement heighten as you approach the sites of the miraculously preserved, 2,000-year-old ruins and commence a guided tour of the Herculaneum area. Receive a fascinating introduction to the city and how it was buried under a sea of volcanic ash following Mt. Vesuvius’ unexpected eruption. 

Next, travel onward to Pompeii, stopping for a revitalizing Italian lunch at a local restaurant along the way. Please see the Itinerary section for a sample menu. Sated, embark on a guided tour of the UNESCO World Heritage-listed ruins with your expert guide. 

Delve into the encompassing intrigue of the ancient city destroyed by the mighty volcano; see excavations of ancient monuments and admire the perfectly preserved structure of Villa of Mysteries (Villa dei Misteri), so-called because of the frescoes, statues, and walls that sustained little damage during the eruption. 

Suitably impressed, return to your vehicle and relax during the journey back to Sorrento, where the tour concludes.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Pompeii Archaeological Park
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Parco Acheologico di Ercolano
Herculaneum
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Acampora Travel
Acampora
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 21 travelers
  • OPERATED BY TUI italia s.r.l
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
146 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 146 reviews
star-5
nice service to cover Pompeii and Herculaneum in one day with pickup from Sorrento peninsula
Vikas_B
, Jun 2022
It was a fantastic tour with a very experienced guide. Everything went smooth as planned including pick up at exact time. Liked Pompeii but more impressed by Hernaculenium.
star-3
Not sure we got the full tour
Christina_G
, Jun 2022
Our small group turned out to be 26 people. Not what I consider a small group. Disappointed we were not given any time to explore or shop on our own as we were rushed to lunch that was served by unfriendly staff. I got to see a Pompeii exhibit that came to the states as a kid and was very excited to see it in person. Sadly, we didn’t even have time to go into the gift shop as we were rushed away to the bus. It would have been nice to pick up a remembrance of our trip, but nope, had to get to the bus. In Herculaneum, the guide took us to an area where we could view the entire site. He showed us an area where they found the remains of many bodies near the original shore line. He indicated that we would not be able to go down there even though we saw many people in that area. He led our group to the exit and started to lead us in until two other guides started arguing with him. After a lengthy conversation, he turned around and we walked to the entrance and actually did go to the area he previously pointed out to us. At that point I wondered if he was cutting our tour short as I saw several groups go into places we did not go. I will say, he was friendly and extremely knowledgeable, but was our tour short changed? This was our first Viator tour and it will probably be our last. I was not impressed.
star-4
Average tour arrangement
Richard_C
, May 2022
Bus was nice and decent AC works prefect. Guide is good, would prefer better one since she speaks English but with strong Itallian accent that little bit hard to understand. End if the tour we need to drop about 5-6 couple to 5 different hotels before dropping us. Suppose to start at 08.30 or 9 but need to pick up few couples from different hotel so we start about 30 mins from the time that was set up. Provided meal was really average for such a price
star-5
Excellent tour guide,nice lunch. Great descriptions.
Teri
, Apr 2022
Ralph was excellent tour guide. We enjoyed the trip..Greatly informative. Pickup and drop off easy. Could ask for more.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Super Tour
Laura_S
, Apr 2022
This tour is an outstanding guide to the secrets of Pompeii. Our knowledgeable guide Rafaela had over 40 years of expert knowledge on all aspects of both sites. Walking on the stones of Pompeii and into the forum, through the houses and living quarters allowed us to imagine what life was like at the time of eruption.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
If you only have time for one tour - this should be it!
Kathleen_S
, Apr 2022
Lia was our guide. Very knowledgeable. Really informative talk. The journey to Pompeii, and the tour round it (pointing out things we would never have spotted ourselves)- she filled with facts for us. The lunch included (great value and happy to give us seconds if anyone wanted) right by the entrance of the park. The journey to Herculaneum and again fabulous guided tour round. Lia regaled us with story and fact after fact. An incredible day - definitely not to be missed. We cannot rate the tour, and Lia in particular, highly enough.
star-5
Roberta is GOLD
Stephanie_P
, Apr 2022
Visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum has been a dream for me since I was a young girl. I was nervous that the tour would be rushed and disappointing after waiting so many years to visit, as I had a somewhat disappointing experience with a tour in Venice that was very rushed and impersonal. I hit the jackpot with Roberta as our tour guide. She is absolutely precious and adorable and her enthusiasm and excitement is electric. She know SO much rich detail and shares it with such emotion and animation. She truly brings the history to life. I asked her many questions and she knew thorough answers for every one. I could tell she is passionate about the history and the region. Her husband is also a tour guide and three other family members. It’s truly her life! The tour exceeded my expectations. Even though you scratch the surface in what there is to see and learn (it’s obvious Roberta has an endless wealth of knowledge), you feel satiated that you got a wonderful experience and gained fantastic knowledge. I’m so grateful for her work. The lunch was a nice surprise too. Lovely all around. Good group too.
star-5
History delight
Kim_C
, Sep 2020
Had a great time and made so interesting by our wonderful guide. A must see if you want to see the history we have all heard about. Thank you
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Herculaneum and pompeii
Vicki R
, Nov 2019
One of our most favorite tours we took the whole month we were in Italy. The history is amazing. We only scratched the surface of Pompeii but would not have wanted to miss Herculaneum, though smaller it is better preserved. Lunch was very good and we had a great day. You would not know what you were seeing with out a great tour. Our guide was very good and really knew the history.
star-5
GREAT EXPERIENCE
joewH9275BE
, Nov 2019
The tour we were on was a great experience and our tour guide SUSAN was excellent,very informative and knowledgeable.Both sites in one day is hard work but is also well worth it.All in all a great tour .
star-3
Exhausting with many areas unseen
Dreamer13681
, Oct 2019
This excursion is not for those who are not in good physical condition: walking many ours over stones and uneven levels and climbing stairs. If you have a guidebook you realize that many of the sites were NOT shown on this tour. However, a knowledgeable guide is good to have. We appreciated that. I suggest one should not schedule back to back 8 hour tours of Pompeii and Herculaneum followed the next day by a tour of Rome.
star-5
Great docent
Mtraidman
, Oct 2019
Sasa did a great job. We really enjoyed the tour of Pompeii and Herculaneum. His knowledge and humor were great. I would recommend this tour.
star-5
Wonderful visit, incredible place
wkhofman
, Oct 2019
Christy was our guide and she couldn't have been better. Her depth of knowledge was incredible and she voice was so pleasant and soothing to listen to. It was a wonderful day and we would have wasted a lot of time it without a guide because the place is so enormous one doesn’t know where to start. I felt we had an excellent understanding how Pompeii was prior to the eruption thanks to her insightful guidance. Highly recommend the tour and try to get Christy if possible.
star-5
Great tour with knowledgeable guide
Sandra D
, Sep 2019
Great tour, Dino our Guide was so enthusiatice and knowledgable. We were pleased we chose a tour that covered Pompeii and Herculaneum in one day with the same guide, as Dino was able to highlight similarities and point out differences between the two sites. A great visit, than you
star-5
Pompei and Herculaneum
Kendra_R
, Sep 2019
Great tour, with knowledgeable guide. Pompei is a large area, but the guide was there to point out the major highlights of the area. The guide provided a good glimpse into how daily life was in these areas.
star-5
Trip to Sorrento
Diane_T
, Sep 2019
Always wanted to visit Pompei and Herculaneum and this is the way to do it. Lots of people but being with Sip the Line we avoided all the queues. Martina our guide was excellent with great knowledge and was quite humorous as well. Highly recommend if you are doing this tour then do it with them.
star-5
Excellent tour
markhroth
, Aug 2019
Pompeii especially is massive and unbelievably crowded in August. Our guide kept us together and moving, providing interesting commentary throughout. Pacing was good and the included lunch, quite surprisingly, was great. Only downside is that the guide was not particularly interested in fielding questions, providing very terse answers and returning immediately to her script.
star-5
You should see both
Kevin R
, Jul 2019
I recommend seeing both excavations. Pompeii is grand, but very busy. Herculaneum is smaller, but easier to get around with fewer people. The sites are different so you learn how the destruction came to each. Thus, you see different things. You will likely be tired after both locay, but it's worth it.
star-5
Pompeii and Herculaneum select -skip the line
alan_a
, May 2019
Our Guide Desiree was excellent. She conducted the tour in a very professional & friendly manner. Her English was excellent and her knowledge of the subject was extensive. The pace of the tour was matched to the ability of the tour party. My wife and I cannot rate this tour highly enough. Very comfortable coach with experienced smooth driver. Lunch was very nice and adequate, did not feel rushed throughout the day.
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Dear Alan, Many thanks for your words! We're glad you and your wife enjoyed Desiree guided tour and the entire day ou! We look forward to seeing you both in other Acampora Experiences across Italy! Kind Regards, AT - Guest relations
star-3
Very experienced guide but not worth the money
Gemma_M
, May 2019
Guide was very good and professional. The lunch was of poor quality and no choice. No time during either time at Pompeii or Herculaneum to visit guide/visitors shops etc. Very few hotel pick ups. On the plus side I would agree it is better with a guide to see both areas as it gets very busy and they were very knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Dear customer, We thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our professional guide guiding you through Pompeii and Herculaneum ruins... as you have seen both are quite big sites to visit so if not requested sometimes our guides tend not to leave a lot of free time in order to give more time to the proper visit of the ruins...however if asked they're always very flexible and ready to give you extra time on your own. As it concerns food we're sorry you didn't like your lunch. We look forward to seeing you back for other Acampora Experiences, Kind Regards AT - Guest relations

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Pompeii and Herculaneum SELECT skip the line
Pompeii and Herculaneum SELECT skip the line

star-4.5146

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.25

star-512

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$407.83

star-550

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.71

star-4.523

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.20

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$407.74

star-416

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.96

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.71

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$203.91

star-4.512

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.86
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations