Recent Searches
Clear

Rocinha Favela Walking Tour

star-4.5330 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Rocinha Favela Walking Tour

From $31.29

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Get an in-depth local experience with this walking tour of one of Rio's favelas, Rocinha. Follow your resident guide to get an insider's perspective on daily life and learn about the challenges these communities face.
  • Enjoy a guided Rocinha favela walking tour
  • Learn about the challenges of life in Rio's slums
  • Gain insight into the community from a resident favela guide
  • Price of tour includes monetary contribution to the community
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Hotel pickup and drop-off (select hotels only)
Gratuities
  • Copacabana Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Rio de Janeiro , Av. Atlântica, 1702 - Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro - RJ, 22021-001, Brazil

    Our tour guide will meet you at the entrance to the hotel NOT INSIDE at 13.30

  • Praia Ipanema Hotel , Av. Vieira Souto, 706 - Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro - RJ, 22420-012, Brazil

    If you chose 13.30 as starting time - be aware that it counts for Belmond Copacabana Palace Hotel only. So, the 13.45 pickup time is for Ipanema (Praia Ipanema Hotel). If you have any question, please contact us immediately via WhatsApp.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    Begin your experience with convenient pickup at your Rio hotel, then transfer to Rocinha, Brazil's largest favela. 

    Meet your local guide, a favela resident, and set off through community on foot. Learn about daily life in the favela and the challenges that residents face. Hear about the history of the favela and how these communities have become a large part of the culture of Rio. 

    The price of your tour includes a monetary contribution to the community. 

    Please note: We are sensitive to the issues and concerns surrounding favelas; we understand that this tour may not be suitable for everyone. The purpose of this tour is for educational reasons alone and allows for a better understanding of local life.
    Itinerary
    Stop At:  
    Copacabana Beach
    This is our first beach and place where we pickup most of our clients
    Duration: 20 minutes
    Admission Ticket Not Included
    Stop At:  
    Ipanema Beach
    Second beach - another great location in Rio and one of the most expensive areas in Brazil. We drive by to pickup clients as well.
    Duration: 10 minutes
    Admission Ticket Not Included
    Stop At:  
    Rocinha
    We expect to arrive in Rocinha after all pickups at 14:30 for our walking tour - please wear comfortable shoes for the tour
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Not Included
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • May be operated by a multilingual guide
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • You must be fit or in good condition to walk at least 5 km
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Favela Walking Tour
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Rocinha Favela Walking Tour?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    See all safety measures taken by Rocinha Favela Walking Tour.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Rocinha Favela Walking Tour?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Rocinha Favela Walking Tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "Be aware that many steps are steep and uneven, if raining could be slippery." See review
    • "Requires lots of stairs and walking on uneven and tight surfaces." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    330 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 330 reviews
    star-5
    This tour is really great...
    navidzomorodi
    , Jun 2022
    This tour is really great experience that everybody should try when visit Rio, specially with knowledge tour guide Carlos
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thanks a lot for your great review. We wish you a great day and again, thanks for coming.
    star-5
    Safe, Informative, short and Colourful
    DanThomas_H
    , Jun 2022
    A very interesting (and safe) walk through the largest favela in Brazil. Our guide (Alberto) has lived there all his life, and could share both personal stories. He gave us a general look at the life and culture, with multiple opportunities to both taste the food, talk to locals and showed us what to do and what not to do. His personal connection to the favela life give the tour deeper meaning if you let the conversation flow. He can tell you about the politics, the infra structure, the 'laws' and practical day-to-day (power and water!!!). You can tell that the favela way of life has evolved to it's own, found it own ways, created economic stability and safe areas. The loose animals (cats and dogs) are well kept, and friendly. Something that tells us that the society are safe, and takes care of each other. I recommend you use 'closed shoes', since some of the alleys are require you to navigate the some steep alleys and stairs. There are 'landmines' (animal poop) some places, so you need to watch your step. Also recommend tasting some of the street food along the way. Everything from desserts, to local pastry and 'bodegas'.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thanks for your great feedback. It is a real pleasure to read your message and experience about our tour. Thanks again and we wish you a pleasant day. Kind regards
    star-5
    Great experience
    JUERG_G
    , May 2022
    Alberto guided me through the favela very well and, as an insider, was able to explain everything to me competently.
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Thanks a lot indeed. Alberto is an amazing person and loves his community. We appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best from our team. Kind regards
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    star-5
    A Look Inside The Rocinha Favela With Our Great Guide, "Carlos"
    Wes_B
    , Apr 2022
    The "Other Rio". I have always been intrigued, especially based on my upbringing (a different story) on the Black experience in the Americas. I try to pass that consciousness on to my children as well so my family and I took a guided tour of a "favela". Probably not a place that you want to go without a local (more on our outstanding guide "Carlos" later) but what an experience! As a contrast to our favela tour we finished up our trip with a walk around Rio's biggest mall ("Shopping Barra") where one can clearly see that the unofficial estimates of "In Brasil 1% of the population controls 98% of the money" may not be as exaggerated as we originally thought. Based on our time in that mall there is DEFINITELY MONEY IN RIO! Just not in the favelas. Why are they called "favelas"? That's why you have Google so look it up if you want to know. We started at the top of Favela Rocinha where the view is worth a million dollars even if the residents exist on $200 a month (from the government) or less sometimes. A thriving mini-economy has arisen and as Carlos put it: "We typically don't know anything about any other neighborhoods other than the address where we work. We are born, live and die in the favela". Carlos was an exceptional guide. Always "telling it like it is" as gritty as that may be. He is steeped in the favela culture as he has lived in it since birth. He is fully bilingual (at least in English/Portuguese. Maybe more?) as well. I truly believe that my family and I now know way more about the world that we live in than we did before our favela tour and through this post I am just trying to honor Carlos' request to "tell the world". It was recommended by Carlos to watch the Brazilian movie from 2002 named "City Of God" which I am almost ashamed to say that I had not seen until I downloaded it and watched it on the flight home. Not so much a documentary but Brazilians say it is a solid depiction of life in a favela. Portuguese with English subtitles. Entertaining yet raw, to say the least. There is also a "Where are they now"? follow up on Netflix called something like: "City of God: 10 Years After". I can now say after viewing both during that long flight home to California that I have now seen both and highly recommend them.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    We cannot thank you for such a detailed feedback. We can read in your words that this has been a very deep experience and we are vey pleased that you took the tour with us. Carlos and all of us are very happy for our work that started in 2002 and until now has been really challenging without non government funds or help. On the other hand, you guys are the reason why this job exist and we hope that in a close future, more and more people can join us to speak up about our social issues and that a solution is brought through investments in education and therefore a better life can be foreseen. Nevertheless, you are the best essence of our job. Have a great day and all the best for your family and kids! kind regards Favela Walking Tour team.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    A must have experience
    Jared_H
    , Apr 2022
    Carlos took a lot of pride in showing us his home neighborhood of Rocinha and it was great seeing an authentic side of Rio.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate your words and all of us wish you all the best Kind regards
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Great experience
    Roman_P
    , Mar 2022
    At first I was quite worried that it would be a dangerous trip. But there really is nothing to fear in Rocinha. The trip was great, the guide Carlos was amazing. I recommend to all.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    We could not agree more with your point of view. Carlos and all of us try our best to break down misconceptions about the Favela. Unfortunately less than 1% is given more credibility as if it is the majority. last but not least, than you very much for coming on our tour and for your review.
    star-5
    Educational
    Chalaun_H
    , Mar 2022
    Carlos is a very Intelligent man with a lot of knowledge. I love the fact that he teaches the people that the people that live there are not bad people.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    We cannot agree more with your point of view. Carlos and all of us try our best to break down misconceptions about the Favela. Unfortunately less than 1% is given more credibility as if it is the majority. last but not least, than you very much for coming on our tour and for your review. Kind regards
    star-5
    Excellent
    Gavin_A
    , Mar 2022
    Excellent tour which I would very much recommend. Alberto was an extremely knowledgeable tour guide.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Thanks a lot Gavin for your feedback. We wish you a great day. kind regards Bruno
    star-5
    Great social experience....
    Viktor_H
    , Mar 2022
    Great social experience. This is one of the best experiences, which I did until now on my vacation in Rio.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    We cannot thank you less for that. Thanks again and we hope you have had a great trip in Brazil. We wish you a great day
    star-5
    Amazing tour, amazing guide
    Sara_P
    , Mar 2022
    Great trip. Guide is from the Favella, amazing guy, taught himself excellent English. Learnt so much about the Favella. The food there was great too, bring money for refreshments on route.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Thanks for your great review. We really appreciate your time for writing us a review. Have a great day
    star-5
    Exploring the largest Favela in Latin America
    Michael_M
    , Mar 2022
    Had a great experience exploring the largest favela in Latin America. Alberto was a great guide. He showed us the good parts and the bad parts of the favela, and let us know when not to take pictures.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Thanks for your feedback. We were really glad to have you on tour and for great support given as we are still going through a pandemic. Have a great day
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Carlos is the best. Great tour!
    Robert_S
    , Feb 2022
    An amazing tour with someone who lives there. Unbelievable insight into the culture of the people. Best tour guide Rio. Carlos is incredibly knowledgeable and engaging.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Thanks for your feedback. Carlos and all of are really happy you came on our tour. All the best
    star-5
    Passionate fantastic Carlos
    Dominic_C
    , Feb 2022
    Carlos gave an eye opening experience to the minority living on top of Rio. His passionate guide of the favelas gave me an authentic impression of the people and their struggles. It was a tour I can not forget and makes me appreciate what I’m given. I highly recommend Carlos and this tour to anyone looking to learn more about the favelas of Rio!
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad to hear from you and see that Carlos did a good job. Have a great day
    star-5
    Dont judge a book by its cover
    Salma_J
    , Feb 2022
    We had a group of around 14 people all English speaking tour with Carlos. My sister and I from London really wanted to do this tour but didnt book until last minute. A fast easy process to book. We were advised by so many people not to go to Rochina Favela and my sister and I are so glad we didnt listen and went. The most amazing experience, you really get to see how locals live. None of them bothered us or made us feel uncomfortable. A totally safe and fun tour. We didnt buy anything to eat but others did on the tour. However, we did stop for a soft drink before heading back.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Thanks for your feedback. It is really nice to hear that you had a good time with us. Carlos loves his neighbourhood and loves to show that to everyone. We wish you a great day and hope to see you soon
    star-2
    Unfortunately disappointed
    Neil_F
    , Feb 2022
    I wouldn’t have given this as bad review if we hadn’t then done another tour the next day as part of a longer hike and the difference was incredible Firstly to be greeted on arrival at the favella with someone selling fridge magnets just gives the wrong impression. I am sure our guide gets kick backs but this was all the way through On this your we were given the impression of how safe favellas are and everyone’s got the wrong idea about them. There were also too many in our group so we stood out In contrast on a different tour we were told about how the favellas really operate and by walking past people with ak47s that did ring with a lot more truth The tour guide was very friendly and did tell us lots. I just came away with an impression that I just don’t think is correct
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Dear Neil, I am afraid you took another tour and left the review on our company. However, we wish you a good day and hope next time you come across a tour you are looking for. Thanks
    star-3
    Area fascinating, guide uses a lot of profanity and crude language, Use a different service
    George_T
    , Jan 2022
    The tour of the rainforest is a very brief 45 minute round trip walk to a beautiful waterfall on an easy trail. The Favela tour was fascinating and something that should be experienced while in Rio. It reveals a completely different life for a large number of the citizens of Rio. The tour was very expensive and the value was very subpar. It was advertised as a 5 hour tour. We were picked up at 10am and returned to our hotel by 1:30, as the operator said the tour was completed. The tour guide is indeed a resident of the are and knows the people and the area very well. That said, I still would suggest you use a different tour operator. Our guide, Alberto, used a great deal of profanity and crude language right from the start. Not really our cup of tea and for some unfathomable reason, he thought I would be interested in his story of “F***ing a 17 year old and the Father be angry”. Caution, I made the mistake of having 1 ounce of coffee for a taste and had terrible consequences for 24 hours!
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Thanks for your feedback. Actually, I wanted to say that I am deeply sorry for your experience, however, 19 days before taking the tour, you already complaint about our tour "being expensive" then I wonder why you took the tour? Secondly, the tour is advertised as a 5-hour tour and it is 5 hours but it seems like you collected every detailed of our guide speech, departure time, favela visit, coffee taste etc...well, we have been conducting our tours for over 20 years and never had a situation like that. You need lots of love in your life, an empty soul from which I feel very sorry. Have a great day and I hope your review made you feel better.
    star-5
    Best tour in Rio de Janeiro
    Gintare_A
    , Jan 2022
    Thank you, Rafael, for interesting tour!! It was definitely a highlight of our trip! We were a bit late because of the traffic - so thank you for waiting, it would have been so sad if we missed this great tour. Totally recommend it: - Completely safe - Super interesting - Attentive - Well organized.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Thank you very much for your feedback. It is really awesome to hear about your experience with us. All the best from all of us Kind regards
    star-5
    Great experience
    Mathilde_P
    , Jan 2022
    Great experience with our guide Carlos who offered us with great generosity and clarity an insight into his hometown, its challenges ans its strenghts as a community. Thank you for your commitment ! Mathilde
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your feedback! Kind regards
    star-5
    The BEST PART of Brazil!
    Kierra_B
    , Jan 2022
    I partnered with 5 ladies to do this tour! Full consensus amongst the group, this was the best part of our 7 days in Brazil! We went back to this favela twice! The tour guide Alberto KNEW EVERYONE THERE! He was soooo kind and extremely personable which made the tour a valuable experience. Getting to learn about and see the noble people who reside here was extremely rewarding. About the Favela: Let me tell you out the gate, the news and media will tell you this is a bad place. Don't believe the hype! Some will see this and think of it as the "S- word" that rhymes with plum however, they have much more law and order than the entire US! We felt extremely safe and the people were welcoming! They were sooo excited to see Americanos who looked like them! Seeing yourself in the people where you travel makes any trip or experience invaluable! You can not quantify the level of impact it has! It sort of reminded me of the fast paced areas of NY! I love seeing that the community had virtually everything you can imagine, grocery stores with fresh fruits and veggies, hair and nail salons, motor bike dealerships, taxis...EVERYTHING! They provide so much of their resources to their people throughout the community. I loved hearing and seeing that their dollar actually stays within their community and hearing how the people actually pour their talents into this community! Far from what some may see as "crab in a barrel" they actually support and uplift each other and the businesses there! I won't give too much on the ins and out and true experiences from inside... I WANT YOU TO CONSIDER GOING TO SEE FOR YOURSELF! I can tell you it is a lot of walking! You will be climbing a lot of stairs so consider comfortable shoes. If you have mobility issues, I highly encourage you to forgo this excursion. It's not hard, I did it the first time in sandals, but it can be a lot on your knees and joints if you have restrictions. Verdict? Add this to your travel plans while in Brazil. If you get Alberto, you will not be disappointed! When we went back the second time, Alberto showed us so much generosity! You can tell he was excited to see us again! The first time we were with a group of approx 14. The second time it was much smaller and I will say a much more genuine experience. My advice, see if Alberto can host you in a smaller group!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Thanks for every word you wrote. It is just amazing to receive feedback on our daily tours. Alberto is an amazing guide and person and is very happy for your kindness. Favela Tour Team
    star-5
    Interesting
    Robbie_R
    , Dec 2021
    Carlos was a great host showing us his Brasil....it was an unforgettable experience...it definitely gave me a more balanced view on the reality of life in Brazil
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
    Thanks a lot for your feedback. It makes us all very glad to hear from you. We wish you a great Xmas time with your family and look forward to seeing you any time soon

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Rocinha Favela Walking Tour
    Rocinha Favela Walking Tour

    star-4.5326

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $31.29

    star-551

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $34.00

    star-5135

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $50.00

    star-56

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $24.07

    star-559

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $27.18

    star-516

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $43.02

    star-4.5192

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $31.90

    star-41

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $76.10

    star-512

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $70.66
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations