Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5235 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Brave the winter chill in search of the Northern Lights on this guided Aurora Borealis tour from Reykjavik. After pickup from your Reykjavik lodging, head out away from city lights in a comfortable minivan until reaching a secluded spot in the Icelandic countryside. Watch the natural light show, and then return to your Reykjavik hotel.
  • Northern Lights tour from Reykjavik
  • Head far from the city lights in a comfortable minivan
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Expert guidance to spot the lights
Saved to wishlist!
English-speaking Driver/Guide
Transport by minibus small-group tour max 19 passenger
Pickup and drop-off from your location in Reykjavik or nearest Tour Bus Stops
Free WI-FI with unlimited free browsing
We also pick up from the Cruise Ship Port in Reykjavik (tell us the port and the cruise ship name)
3-hour tour searching for the Northern Lights
A lot of FUN
Luggage are not allowed, only back packs
Refreshments not included
Tripod not included
Warm Clothes, shoes, gloves, and hat not included

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 PM
* Pickup is offered at all Reykjavik hotels, hostels and guesthouses, private homes. As buses are not allowed to drive in certain areas of Reykjavik centre, your pick up may be from the nearest Tour Bus Stops. Your Hotel reception will help you find it. After receiving your pickup information, the local partner will notify you of your exact pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the departure time by email. * If you don’t add a pickup location Meet us at Bus stop 8 Hallgrimskirkja (Cathedral) * If you can´t find your address on the list, you can add it manually, and after we receive your pickup information, we will notify you of your pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the departure time. Please be 30 minutes before departure time at your pickup location.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • If you are a Tour Agency please book with the email and mobile phone number of the traveler, so we can deliver addition information
  • To avoid any misunderstanding and negative reviews, we’d like to inform you that this tour is a very much weather depending and can be cancelled up to 1 hour before the departure time.
  • Seeing the Northern Lights is not guaranteed even though the tour is operated. The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon and as part of nature, unpredictable. We cannot guarantee how much you will see on the night you go.
  • We send reconfirmation email about pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the tour begins. Please kindly check your email when you are in Iceland
  • Please check your emails for any updates up to 1 hour before the tour start
  • Minimum age is 5 years, children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or no show
  • We are picking up more passengers, please be at your pickup location on time, the pickup can last up to 30 minutes
  • Tour can take sometimes longer then 3 hours due to Northern Lights appearance
  • Pickup is offered at all Reykjavik hotels, hostels and guesthouses, private homes but you might have to make your way to the nearest Tour Bus Stops. Your hotel reception will help you find it
  • Dress very warm for the weather, it is Iceland very cold nights
  • Tripod very necessary for phones and photo cameras if you have one bring it with you
  • Go to joy Iceland reserves the right to delay, alter or cancel any tour due to weather or any other unsafe conditions for the safety of our clients
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Rebooking northern Lights tour due to bad weather cancellation to the 24-25-26-31 of December and first of January for additional cost difference due to Holidays prices
  • If we cancel your Northern Lights tour due to weather conditions or any other circumstances beyond our control you will always receive a full refund, this does not apply to customers that have joined the Northern lights tour before and we do not offer refunds, whether partial or full, for tours where a Northern Lights sighting was not possible after first trial or any trial.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Go to joy Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the pick up location?
A:We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Do dress warmly, as you will be outside a lot." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
235 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 235 reviews
star-5
Absolutely worth it
Leanne_C
, Mar 2022
Absolutely brilliant and managed to get the most amazing Aurora photos. Driver MM was very knowledgeable and shared lots of information. Driving got a bit hairy at times due to the snow but we saw the Aurora in all it’s glory at several stops. Lovely to have a small coach/group too - much better than the massive coach tours
star-5
Iceland light show
Derek_A
, Mar 2022
The night was perfect. Well organised and professional guide. Stopping at every chance to take pictures.
star-5
Third time very lucky!
Ceren_C
, Mar 2022
I had this tour booked for my first night in Iceland just incase it got cancelled I could re-book it for the following days. The first night, this tour got cancelled while some other tours were running. Then instead of rebooking this tour, I booked with another tour company for the next night. However, the other company didn't see anything on the night they went out. The second night both this tour company and the other one I booked with cancelled it. On my third night which was the final one, I booked again with this company and cancelled my re-booking option with the other company. I know I did a lot of booking and cancellation but I really wanted to see it. During this time I nagged their support team a lot but they have been very proactive. While some other companies have cancelled on my third night and there was a lot of cloud on the night - this company decided around 6:30pm that the tour will be on. He said there will be bit of cloud clearance after 10pm so he decided to get the tour on. Compared to other companies, this company announces their decision quite late, however later on I understood this was to have more accurate decision based on the clouds and the aurora activity on the sky. Third night when we went out, our guide was Magnus who played a little recording in the car which informed us about the northern lights. He provided step by step instructions on how to set-up our camera settings for each type of phone. He was very friendly and knowledgable about the northern lights. At some point he mentioned something along the lines that he would skip one of the stops (which apparently other tours go to initially) and go straight to the other one (which is supposed to be the last stop to increase the chances to see northern lights). I am glad he did that! He was very hopeful we could see the lights and he explained to us his reasons. But he also mentioned that sometimes even every circumstance is met, the aurora lights do not show up. When we got to our stop, we were the only tour there and we waited a bit for the clouds to clear up. During that time, he asked everyone individually if their camera was set-up correctly and helped with the set-up when required. The sky was cloudy, but at some points we could see tiny bit of green light on our cameras. In between that time the tour guide was having conversations with others. He was very friendly. Not too long after, we started seeing more lights and took photos. Then, for me it was very unexpected, the lights started clearly appearing everywhere in the sky and started moving around for few minutes. It was sooo magical and everyone got very excited. Tour guide told us that whats happening know was a rare event. After that, I was so glad I chose this company because Magnus was very knowledgable and it made me feel like his estimates are more accurate. Glad I cancelled with the other company. I was also glad the tours got cancelled on my previous nights otherwise I would have missed this. Recommendation for anyone who wants to go on any norther lights tour - take a stable tripod with you if it is not provided in the tour. I had bought a light one specially for this trip so it wasn't too heavy in my bag but I didn't think of the amount of wind. My tripod simply couldn't handle the wind throughout my northern lights experience and also my Iceland trip. Also, Magnus does take some pictures of the group, individuals and also the northern lights too. So next time I go, I would defo not bother trying to capture anything and just simply enjoy the experience then get the photos from Magnus.
star-3
Dragged on a little bit
Yusuf_P
, Mar 2022
We barely saw the northern lights, they weren't visible with the unaided eye but you could make it out with a good camera. We stayed longer than we should have, the whole group was in the van waiting whilst the guide was outside. We could have returned a lot earlier but stayed out too long. The auroroa forecast wasn't showing anything promising either so there was no reason to stay.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Yusuf, Thank you for your feedback, we would love to show you the best Northern lights in this earth if it was in our control. You signed for tour which is 3-5 hours, we bring you back to Reykjavik on time, there are other customers would like to stay until the end and ou Guides won’t go home so long there is a chance for the hunt lay Aurora. We hope you have you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful country. With love from Iceland.
star-5
Great communication!
Grace_J
, Mar 2022
Fantastic communication and well organized! Due to weather, we were cancelled three times.. But fourth time was incredible! The tour operator always sent an email out if the tour was cancelled early in the afternoon. He also answered his phone every time I called. He was extremely genuine and cared for the tour group like family! Also, the tour operator brings a camera to capture photos of the families/couples on tour. He charged 10 dollars per photo and you can take multiple! Highly recommend using this tour group!
star-5
Brilliant tour with brilliant guide!!!
Stuart_W
, Feb 2022
What a brilliant tour. The location of the tour is outside where there is not artificial lighting. Allowing us to see a nice display of the northern lights and beautiful spread of stars. The tour guide Magnus was fantastic sharing his wealth of knowledge, ensuring everyone was comfortable and had a great time. For us in particular he really did go the extra mile as we had issues with our booking and ended up even leaving a bad outside the hotel. He called them while on the trip and even drove us past after where we found it untouched. Really was a stand up guy!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Dreams really do come true…
Malgorzata_M
, Feb 2022
Amazing!! Magnus has gone above and beyond for us to make our biggest dream come true. Thank you 😊 🥰🥰
star-5
Highlight of our holiday
Adele_J
, Feb 2022
Great tour, collected us on time, comfortable bus. Went to a few different locations before settling in a secluded field. Amazing we saw the lights.... Our guide was really great and we stayed out after all the other buses had left and mean we saw an amazing Auroa show. Thanks to mm our guide, he took some great photos of us which we will keep forever. Loved being in a small group- more personal, everyone was chatting and swapping stories whilst waiting for the lights to appear.
star-5
Amazing Experience. Great tour guide
Stephanie_A
, Feb 2022
Our tour guide was very friendly and welcoming. He was very passionate about the northern lights. We can only thank “Double M” for making a lifelong memory a very enjoyable experience. Highly recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Easy communication for...
lauraschinn
, Feb 2022
Easy communication for pickup, comfortable minibus, and we got to see the northern lights! Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend!
star-5
Mind blowing
Grace_L
, Feb 2022
Thank you for taking us and finding them and the the amazing picture. Would highly recommend to all family and friends.
star-5
Great night with our guide Magnus!
Tom_K
, Jan 2022
We were lucky enough to see the lights and got some great pictures. Our guide Magnus was very pleasant and chose a great spot for us to view the lights from. Thoroughly recommend👍
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Lucky
Valrie_G
, Jan 2022
Nice trip north to catch the lights. Helpful and very friendly guide Magnus who made the trip perfekt. Thank you!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful experience
caroh88
, Jan 2022
Beautiful experience. Thanks to Magnus who tried to find the best spots in the region and found the right balance between those who wanted to stay awake all night and those who had a tour early in the morning ;-)
star-5
Professional!
Erchen_S
, Jan 2022
I think the guide is really professional, but the trip is also sort of energy consuming for those who have to get up early for their next day. The day I participated was unfortunately not strong in KP, but I still capture a glimpse of aurora by my phone in the way the guide introduced. After the trip, actually I didn’t check my photos in the minibus, because I thought there was nothing since I couldn’t see anything in the sky and was too tired. But when I was back to hotel, I saw the northern light photos! Really want to say lots of thanks to the guide!
star-1
Would not recommend
Stephanie_Z
, Dec 2021
The tour guide did not communicate well, to start with we sat for 15 minutes in a van with no heat for some unknown reason before embarking on our journey. The conditions were -8 and windy. Half of the group sought refuge in the bus going outside intermittently to view the lights. Our tour guide was nothing short of abusive. He repeatedly made passive aggressive remarks and snide comments to those seeking to warm up a bit. He purposefully left the doors open and blasted static over the radio as a form of torture to those in bus. He took photos with his own camera of each couple and then pressured you to purchase them at the end of the tour, cash only. The lights were beautiful but the evening could have been more pleasant with a considerate guide.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hello Stepanie, To start with, 17 passengers was happy but only one person complained and speak for the rest of the group on a tour about one of our best guides with a beautiful display of Aurora Borealis. Example, “Joyann_a is customer that was on the same tour with you on the bus she said that your guide was excellent and made sure we saw the lights and took photos of us. He pushed us to get off the bus so we could experience the spectacular views when we would have just stayed on because so cold.” She stated here review just below yours. We do not need to answer or apologise to your negative review, it make us sorry you couldn’t even appreciate a beautiful event.
star-5
Lights
Joyann_a
, Dec 2021
The guide was excellent abs made sure we saw the lights and took photos of us. He pushed us to get off the bus so we could experience thr spectacular views when we would have just stayed on because so cold
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Dissapointing experience
CRISTIAN_N
, Dec 2021
Unfortunately we didn't see the northern lights as planned. I know that is not the tour operator's fault, we were unlucky. The issue I had was the transportation. Very uncomfortable, we didn't get proper seats, had to sit at the back with another two passenger so no social distance. Basically for the price we paid we only got an uncomfortable 4 hour night drive in a crowded minibus.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Cristian Nutu, Merry Christmas and thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, of course reviews it help us to do better and learn how to satisfy our clients better and better. Honestly we didn’t understand your disappointment, specially one of the customers that was with you on the same tour give us 5 star just the review before you, under name “kevin_g” What a Night and Event! Let me explain. Fortunately we did see the Northern Lights on the night you go for the hunt the 23rd of December 2021, please check our Facebook and Instagram page “gotojoyicelandtour” for the pictures of that night that you ignored. We are operating newly Mercedes Sprinter minibuses, best you can get in the market today and we operate small group no more then 19 passengers. Social distance! I want to ask instead to answer this. When you got on a airplane full of passengers do you get any social distancing? In our buses everyone passenger is obligated to wear mask and sanitise hands before getting in the bus same as any other transportation. We are sorry that you didn’t feel comfortable inside the minibus and you didn’t like the natural phenomenon of the Northern Lights that you said you didn’t see. We don’t know every client expectation but believe us we would love to give best service we can and we would love to get in contact with us if there is any issue before adding any review. We hope you will have better experience and you will enjoy your stay in our beautiful country. Best regards, Go to joy Team.
star-5
What a Night and Event!
kevin_g
, Dec 2021
OMG, what a magical night on a very chilly evening! Great time and experience and it’s something I’ll try never forget. Great driver as well. He got us there in a safe capacity and taking individual photos with the Northern Lights behind us was a great touch😍🤓👍🏽!!!
star-5
Wow!
Steph_H
, Dec 2021
Our tour guide was Magnus (triple M) and he was absolutely amazing! I was slightly worried when we seemed to go in a different direction to the other buses but I shouldn’t have been. Magnus knows the NorthernLights so well he took us to the best spots to see them and the photos we got were incredible. Lovely man who was super helpful and made our night so special! Thank you so much!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5235

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.80

star-5181

8 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$84.80

star-5321

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$151.63

star-3.5476

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-413

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.00

star-4.545

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.00

star-423

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-527

4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$135.95
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations