Recent Searches

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, draw hopeful travellers to Iceland from across the world, but knowing how to boost your chances of the best sightings requires skill and practise. On this Northern Lights bus tour, enjoy round-trip travel from your Reykjavik hotel and head out into the Icelandic countryside with your experienced guide. Hit the best spots for the clearest visibility, and reschedule for free if you don’t get lucky.
  • Hit the best viewing spots according to weather conditions on the day
  • Sip hot chocolate as the Northern Lights dazzle in the skies above
  • Reschedule with ease if the Northern Lights don’t appear
  • Includes round-trip travel from your Reykjavik accommodation
Saved to wishlist!
WiFi on board
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Þórunnartún 1 , Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

After booking, the operator will contact you about pickup time.

This activity will end right where it started.Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 8 years old
  • Booking this Northern Lights tour also gives you a free ticket to visit the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik, Grandagarður 2, 101 Reykjavík. The free entrance is only valid on the day you join the tour, from the time we announce whether the tour is ON (by email and on our website). The entrance fees to the Aurora Reykjavik exhibition are complementary meaning that if you do not wish to go to the museum, there is no partial refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Dress in warm, wind and waterproof clothing and footwear.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bustravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Our tour guided also brought her own professional camera and took pictures of us and sent them over via email FOR FREE!" See review


155 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews
Honestly incredible experience
, Dec 2021
Snowing quite hard when the bus picked us up, still snowing as we travelled. As we arrived skies were clearing and we saw an amazing display. Hit and miss we all know but if you are lucky it is is quite an experience
Well worth it and giod fun!
, Nov 2021
Daniel was a fantastic guide and made a night of no northern lights an enjoyable thing to do. The information given was excellent and although we did not see the lights it was thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended.the bus was comfortable and trip well organised. We also used the free entry to aurora experience museum which was also worth a visit. We hope to return to take advantage of the free rebook promise and we cant wait. 5 stars
, Nov 2021
Took a boat tour and this tour to see the Northern Lights two nights in a row and nothing both nights. Not sure if these guides can truly track them. My main concern about this tour was the bus. It was cold and old. No heat and it sounded like it was going to fall apart on the road. Also, their were no outlets for charging phones or cameras like most modern buses have now.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. The Northern Lights are a natural phenomena and even the best scientists are not able to predict them at this point in history. Science is simply not that far yet that we can predict them reliably. This is why this tour is a Northern Lights hunt just as whale watching tours for example. We have an amazing mountain bus that can take you everywhere and as far away from any light pollution as possible to provide you with the best chance to see the lights. Yes, these mountain buses don´t have USB outlets because they are built for the mountains, not for long day journeys. All our guests can reschedule their Northern Lights Tour free of charge until they see the Northern Lights, so we hope you will get to see them on your next try! Have a great day!
The most amazing Northern Lights experience
, Nov 2021
An unbelievable night!!!! We booked the Northern Lights tour with Daniel “Aurora Whisperer” after reading other reviews on Viator. So pleased we did! Daniel was so knowledgeable and entertaining. And the icing on the cake: we got to see an amazing display. A once in a lifetime opportunity. So very happy!!
Didn’t see them, guide...
, Nov 2021
Didn’t see them, guide was ok but he repeated a lot of his stories and some didn’t make sense. Maybe more time to view lights or different locations?
, Nov 2021
We had a great time and we actually seen the Northern Lights. We had to go to two locations. The guild was fantastic.
Hit or Miss
, Nov 2021
Our tour bus didn’t depart for at least an hour and a half. We were waiting for another bus for whatever reason. Once we finally hit the road the tour guide wasn’t very talkative and didn’t say much. We had two stops and didn’t see any northern lights and came back around 2:30am. Wouldn’t recommend, especially when weather conditions are bad.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Shadi, Thank you for your feedback! We would like to have a look into your booking, can you send us an email with your booking number? Indeed the Northern Lights can never be guaranteed as this is a natural phenomenon that is not a 100% predictable. For that reason we offer all our guests to reschedule their tour free of charge for up to 3 years in case the Northern Lights are not seen on the tour. Have a great day!
Was poor showing all...
, Nov 2021
Was poor showing all round Ok no guarantee seeing lights but to get out of free 2nd night tour guide said we saw white lights but my partner nor i saw this and not many others did talking to them was very disappointing
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Patrick, Thank you for your feedback. Indeed we can not control nature and the lights are not always crazy dancing like on the photos. If you were not happy with what you saw on your tour please feel free to email us or call us and you can join the tour again :) Have a wonderful day!
The tour was cancelled...
, Nov 2021
The tour was cancelled but they didn't tell us until 2hrs before our trip. We tried to ring them to find out if it was still going ahead and they couldn't tell us and told us to wait until we get an email. When they told us it was cancelled they due to weather they couldn't offer us a refund, said that's not what they do. Now we are trying to get our money back. Really bad communication and no telephone skills what so ever. Other people we spoke to have got a refund from other tour operators so definitely shop around first
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Craig, Unfortunately the Northern Lights are absolutely based on the weather and if there is no chance to see the Northern Lights we will cancel the tour. Of course you are able to receive a full refund if the tour did not go ahead! Please feel free to contact us via email with your booking number and we will take care of the refund. Indeed we sometimes have to make the decision last minute if we can run the Northern Lights or not since the weather forecast in Iceland is constantly changing and we want to make the best decision possible. Have a great day!
Trip on Sun night 31 Oct
, Nov 2021
Stopped at a dark spot several km away from Reykjavik and had an hour to take photos of the northern lights that were present. We were also provided with some hot chocolate and a small chocolate treat which was nice.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik


3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do