Recent Searches
Clear

Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik

star-4.5956 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Take in the treasures of the UNESCO-listed Thingvellir National Park on this full-day tour of the Golden Circle from Reykjavik. Stand in awe before the thundering Gulfoss Waterfall; see Geysir, the geyser after which all others were named; and marvel over the startling colors of the Kerið crater lake. Pass an endless panorama of photo-worthy scenery and learn how the natural landscape has been sculpted through the moving of the North American and Eurasian tectonic plates.
  • Full-day tour of the Golden Circle from Reykjavik
  • Snap photos of the spectacular Gulfoss Waterfall and the Kerið crater lake
  • See geysers that reach up to 98-foot (30-meters) high in the Geysir geothermal area
  • Learn about the movement of the tectonic plates in the UNESCO-listed Thingvellir National Park
  • Tour includes hotel pick-up and entrance fees
  • Ideal introduction to Iceland’s volcanic landscapes for first-time visitors

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This trip’s visit to Kerið Crater Lake makes a nice addition to the standard Golden Circle circuit of Gulfoss, Thingvellir, and Geysir.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Food and drinks
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Þórunnartún 1 , Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BusTravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
How can I let you know where to pick me up?
A:We only pick up/drop off from selected locations and Bus Stops in central Reykjavik. So that we can arrange the most convenient location, let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "There is wifi on the bus which was great because as you take the pictures of the places you visit, you can share them with your friends and family!" See review
  • "I would suggest to make the last stop in the national park 30 min longer as it’s a beautiful place and there are plenty things to explore." See review
  • "Well worth taking the 8 hours for this tour and to see the amazing sites!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
956 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 956 reviews
star-5
Icekand dramatic nature as its best
Jonas_N
, Jun 2022
Everything was amazing but waterfall and geysir was outstanding. Our guide Rose did a terrific job with anekdots n stories of Iceland during our transfer between the sights
star-3
Nice Sights but Bad Guide
Emilie_F
, Jun 2022
The things you see on the tour are great but many tour operators offer the same route so I recommend using one of them. The guide was odd. She talked about unrelated things in her life and played loud music the entire eight hours. It made the trip less enjoyable.
star-5
Amazing day
Evelin_C
, Jun 2022
Despite of the weather we had a really nice trip. Tour guide was really nice and informative. Make sure to dress warm!
star-5
Very good
Carla_H
, Jun 2022
It was a very beautiful and good organized tour, our guide Anna was very enthusiastic and we learned a lot about iceland from her!
star-5
Fantastic tour guide Anna...
Josephine_H
, Jun 2022
Fantastic tour guide Anna , knowledgeable and friendly, the places were spectacular, views at the Kerid Crater fabulous and the Geysur erupted several times on visit
star-4
Excellent trip
Sandra_A
, Jun 2022
Very knowledgeable guide, but such a large group, perhaps the radio devices might have helped to hear guide
star-5
Had a blast
Alvin_V
, Jun 2022
Great tour! I love Magic and Jona. All of the events were different and super fun and interesting. 10/10 would recommend
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good day!
Alisha_G
, Jun 2022
Fun and knowledgeable tour guide. Got in an extra unplanned stop which was a treat. Easy pick up and drop off making the day very easy.
star-5
Mesmerizing experience
Maria_G
, Jun 2022
Amazing experience. We did the golden circle and something extra. The tour guide was awesome ! I will definitely recommend this tour.
star-5
Great trip
Denis_H
, Jun 2022
I found the trip and staff amazing and very funny and the fellow passengers a pleasure to be with, exception to a couple of German passengers who told me off for being 10 minutes late but our female warrior pulled them aside and discretely corrected them for it was not their place. I was so impressed I told her I wanted to marry her but she said her husband might object. As it was the next stop was for 70 minutes and the Germans got back to the ship in plenty of time after continuing to harp on that they were going to miss their ship and I would have to pay for them to fly to the next port of call. Thank you.
star-5
Worth the money
Halina_S
, Jun 2022
Guide was great - friendly and knowledge able. Timings for visiting the sites were good, apart from trip to Pingvellar Park which felt rushed. I would have liked 20 minutes more in this location as it is stunning.
star-5
Great tour
John_A
, May 2022
Monica and the driver were excellent! Can’t recommend enough. Saw all the good sights and then some extra
star-5
Golden Circle Tour
Alan_M
, May 2022
Perfect day trip. As much or as little walking as one cared to day. Nice stops & nice to sit back on the bus & enjoy the scenery & super informative commentary!
star-5
Great tour and good guide!
Diane_C
, May 2022
The waterfalls and the walk along the North American plate were spectacular. The bonus stop to see the Icelandic horses was a fun stop.
star-4
A Nice Day in Niceland. Mostly.
Hank_G
, May 2022
National park, geysers, volcano. Knowledgeable guide with good sense of humor. Downside was huge packed bus. (I thought I’d be in a van). A 90 minute lunch stop was too long by half and, really, just a too obvious way to fleece tourists in a crowded shopping center.
star-1
Almost Died
Annika_B
, May 2022
My most memorable part of the experience was when our bus driver passed out after taking a phone call while driving! Thanks to Geri, our guide, and whoever told us to all jump on the upper side of the bus, we miraculously did not flip. Accidents happen, but afterwards we waited 3 hours for a replacement bus and driver (we were an hour from Reykjavik so unknown why it took so long) and we did not get to see all the sights promised. This is all fine, we were in crisis mode and most of us wanted to get home after nearly dying, but we also wanted to be refunded. BusTravel did NOT offer us a refund, and I believe this is outrageous. Accidents happen, I am grateful everyone is okay, but BusTravel handled this so so poorly in the aftermath. I would not recommend taking a trip with them because of this. I would however recommend Geri, our poor guide had to save us all by taking the wheel and then deal with the aftermath of 61 panicked people all on his own.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Annika, Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry about the incident that happened on your tour. Our driver had a medical emergency and was taken to the hospital. We absolutely understand that this was a scary scenario for you, but by no means where you in a life threatening situation at any point. The driver realized he was not feeling well and stopped the bus on the side of the road. He was taken to the hospital and we followed our emergency protocol in every step. We sent a second bus and driver to pick you up and finish the tour as scheduled. The original bus was not damaged by this incident and no one was hurt, but it is our normal procedure to send another bus. Please also note, that our driver was not talking with his phone in his hand, this is illegal in Iceland. We checked in with you right after the incident and offered you free counselling, as we understand a situation like this is out of the normal and can absolutely be scary and shocking. Please feel free to reply to our email we sent you to get back to our offer! We are very sorry that this incident occurred on your tour and of course we would have wished for this day to go different but we are trying everything to make sure everyone is ok, not only in the moment but also long term. Thank you also for your lovely feedback about our guide Geri. We will pass that on to him as well :) We wish you a wonderful time in Iceland and hope you still enjoyed seeing all the sights in beautiful weather!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A fantastic experience
Dennis_S
, May 2022
Great experience for what we pay for. Everything ran as smoothly as possible. Guide Anna and driver Magik were great to say the least. Only thing I'd say would be to give an extra 15 - 20 mins time at the Geysir and Gullfoss stops as otherwise it is nearly impossible to have a quick stop at the cafés to grab any food/snacks... (I missed my coffee...😌😬😭🙂)
star-5
A great day
MaraAngeles_g
, May 2022
Beautiful sights. Monika, our guide, was very nice and provided us with lots of information about everything we saw and also about life in Iceland.
star-5
Breathtaking
Lisa
, May 2022
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The weather was very rainy, so when it cleared up our driver made an extra stop so that we could see some falls while it was not raining. The scenery was beautiful.
star-4
Great host
James_H
, May 2022
Really informative Golden Circle tour. Our guide - self styled female warrior’ -was great. She handled latecomers back to the coach diplomatically.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik
Golden Circle Day Trip with Kerid Volcanic Crater from Reykjavik

star-4.5955

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.00

star-51020

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-4.5205

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.00

star-4.53009

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.39

star-4.592

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$96.24

star-5651

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$204.00

star-4.5153

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$63.32
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations