Recent Searches
Clear

Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

star-4.5192 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Puerto Varas, Chile
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Known for its dramatic landscape at the foothills of the Andes, Puerto Montt is best explored outside the city limits. Visit three of the area's top attractions on this shore excursion from the port, including a stop at Petrohue Waterfall, the German city of Frutillar, and the City of Roses, all while taking in incredible views of the surrounding lakes, mountains, and volcano. This tour includes all entrance fees and transportation.
  • See three of the area's top attractions on a single tour
  • Learn about the area's history and natural attractions as you go
  • Option of small-group or private tour
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hearty baked beef Chilean empanada (vegetarian option must be informed at time of booking)
Glass of Chilean wine (red and white)
Cruise Port pickup and drop-off
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We email everyone at least 30 days before their excursion to confirm pick-up details. We will specify
meeting time, send pictures of where to meet us at the cruise port if you are on a cruise. If your hotel
is not listed, we will still pick you up (even if it's airbnb).

Ports

  • Puerto Montt


  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved, comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY GV Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The far end the walk was uneven concrete with steps and would probably not been suitable for anyone with walking difficulties." See review
  • "Maybe eat on the bus instead of standing on the side of the road for 20 minutes" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
192 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 192 reviews
star-5
A Great Trip with Excellent Guide
Gordon_W
, Apr 2020
The guide was at the port gates in Purto Montt as informed by email. The communication between the tour operator and ourselves on the cruise ship was excellent and very precise. The trip was a great experience and having lunch on the go with a glass of good quality wine was something different. This was essential in order to see everything and be back in plenty of time for the ships departure. The guide was very good and the weather could not have been better, glorious sunshine. All the stops were up to expectations and it was a great day out.
star-1
GV Tours
Diane_C
, Mar 2020
I was dissappointed with this excursion. I booked this tour with GV Tours and after I paid and received a printed confrimation time to meet at 10am. We came off the ship at 9:15, made our way to the street for pickup at 9:30 only to find our from the other tours that GV Tours had left without us. I tried calling and no one answered. I have been trying to get a refund from them and viator, they will not give me one saying I should have gotten there sooner like the others
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello again, Diane, We are happy to refund our customers when we see that they deserve to be refunded, especially now during the COVID-19 pandemic. But you have to remind yourself that you booked a tour and didn't show up for it. Unfortunately, you were the only party that didn't show up for the tour out of all of our reservations.The 10:00 AM pick up is what YOU chose at time of booking, not what we told you. Let me just copy what you responded when we sent you the meeting instructions 30 days before your tour, this is what you responded: "GV Tours,Thank you for all the information and the picture. I'm very happy that I chose this excursion because you are very organized and helpful. We will be the first off and are looking forward to an exciting day with you." So clearly, you read our instructions which did not say anywhere to meet us at 10:00 am. And let me copy what I sent you the day of the tour after you did not show: " Hello! Unfortunately, even though you responded that you would be the first ones off, you never showed up! Our last vehicle left at 9:30 AM. Are you okay? You were the only party that didn't make it. Kind regards, Victoria Stein +56933956055" PS: 136 people took our tour that day from your cruise. Kind regards, Victoria Stein
star-2
Disappointing all around
Jayne_B
, Mar 2020
We were disappointed with this tour. The day we arrived, Puerto Montt received a deluge of rain and we all got drenched at the waterfall. It was surprising we could make it there at all...by the time we returned, the road was being washed away by a mudslide. Not blaming our tour guide at all for pouring rain! By the time we arrived in Puerto Varas, and then Frutillar, the sun was shining. We had an empanada (ok) and wine standing next to the lake in Puerto Varas (I think). We had 1/2 hour in Frutillar for a quick restroom stop but there were GORGEOUS shops and restaurants which we could have explored if given time. I think the decision should’ve been made to skip the waterfall and do the cute towns instead. Our guide told us very little about the German culture of the area, no history, just nothing. We were thrilled to return to the ship after a long day in the 14-passenger van (which was nice).
star-4
Breathtaking
Michael_C
, Mar 2020
The hostess Nelly was very informative and knew her job. She was extremely friendly and made the trip very enjoyable. It was a beautiful place.
star-4
Loved the galls
Libby_G
, Mar 2020
We loved Nellie- and the driver!! The empanadas and wine were great too!! Disappointed in the rain but cannot be helped! The bus windows leaked! We had to wait one hour 10 minutes for all passengers to get there!!!!
star-5
Highly recommend
Nancy_F
, Mar 2020
Amazing tour and tour guide NELLIE. Although it rained incredibly hard our spirits were not dampened!!
star-1
Price gouging
Barbara_A
, Mar 2020
We paid extra for a small group tour. We ended up in a regular group van where everyone else paid much less than we did. No response from the GV Tours on refunding the price difference. The guide provided min to no information.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi there! You booked through Viator, not our website so you can check that there is a price difference of $15 dollars more. Our website is cheaper. Kind regards, Victoria Stein
star-5
Lakes,Llamas and Volcanoes with a dash of waterfall.
keith_C
, Mar 2020
Tuesday March 3rd, our final port on our cruise with Coral Princess.Myself and 5 friends had booked this tour independently with Viator. We needed a water shuttle to travel from ship to shore, using the water shuttle required all our group to be present before we could collect tickets for the shuttle. I advise anyone making this trip to ensure they have all their party in the lounge as early as possible as our delayed departure from the ship resulted in a late departure for our tour. All that said the tour guide Nelly and her driver (sorry forgotten his name) gave us a most enjoyable and full day. We headed for Puerto Varas first , The City of the Roses. The morning mist started to clear and we had 30 minutes to visit the lakeside and the local handicraft centre. Nelly explained about the Chilean Lake District and how the locals live with the constant presence of earthquakes. She also gave us a wonderful background into the history of the area and the original German settlers as we travelled through the countryside to our second stop, the llamas. We stopped for 10 minutes or so at a roadside shop and cafe which keeps llamas and alpacas for meat and wool and as a tourist attraction. Leaving the llamas we headed to the Petrohue Waterfalls and along the way had our first sighting of Mt Fuji's rival in Chile. Inside the park itself we took the boardwalk for a smart 5 minute walk to the waterfall and the best views of the volcano. The far end the walk was uneven concrete with steps and would probably not been suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. The views were magnificent with plenty of spots from which to photograph the waterfall and the volcanoes. Nelly had explained the different types of volcano we would see and when they last errupted on our drive up to the park. The day was warm and the sky clear blue my only (slight) complaint was that we could have done with slightly longer at the park we got 30 minutes whereas I overheard another group complain that their 45 minutes went too quickly. The shorter time meant, for me, that my wife did not have time to look at the local handicrafts. (On second thoughts perhaps this was not a bad idea!) Back into the coach again and the promise of a roadside stop, lunch of empanadas and wine and more views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately the mist had not fully cleared as we stopped and so no view of the mountains but lunch was delicious washed down with a substantial cup of red or white wine. Next stop Frutillar once more Nellie gave us a good commentary on what to expect of this lakeside resort. Apfel Strudel and real coffee con leche and plenty of time to wander along the lakeside to look at the large houses now operating as B&B's . The sun shone and the views across the lake to the three volcanoes were marvellous. Frutillar is an ideal holiday spot but a long way from England. After about an hour in Frutillar we made our way back to the ship to arrive at the port in plenty of time before the last water shuttle. We crammed a lot into the day and Nelly was a mine of information, the trip was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a snapshot tour of the area.
star-4
Great excursion
Robert_B
, Mar 2020
Weather cooperated for a great look at the snow capped volcano-Osorno-if cloudy could have been a bust but we had a great day. Petrohue falls was beautiful-would have been more impressive with higher water flow. All in all had a guide who didn’t talk too much just right same excursion ship offered but a smaller group-we had 8,they had a big bus full and they paid twice as much. Keep up the good work
star-5
Volcanos Waterfall & Huge Lake
EDWARD_J
, Mar 2020
Great tour small group and we seen a lot lamas ,volcanos,waterfalls huge lake,German town& lots more. We were the mouse around elephants the large tour buses from the ship we were a 15 passenger van with a great guide who spoke perfect english. If you want to see a lot in one day this is the tour!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt
Frutillar, Puerto Varas, and Petrohué Waterfalls Excursion from Puerto Montt

star-4.5192

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.16

star-4.545

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$44.30

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$72.73

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.92

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-00

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$76.90

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.38

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.27

Explore Similar Things to Do