Recent Searches

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

New York Catacombs by Candlelight

New York, United States

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

See Similar Products
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Go behind-the-scenes at the Basilica of St. Patrick’s Old Cathedral, and see parts of the church that are otherwise off-limits to visitors, during this catacombs tour. Meet your guide at a convenient location in Lower Manhattan, and follow them into the church. As you explore, learn all about the landmark’s place in New York history and discover the final resting place of famous New Yorkers past.
  • A tour offers a more personal way to explore the landmark
  • Explore the catacombs and other areas that most visitors miss
  • Learn all about the history of the church from your guide
  • Choose from a number of convenient departure times
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during New York Catacombs by Candlelight?
This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by New York Catacombs by Candlelight.

Traveler Tips

  • "Only recommendation is children should not be allowed on this tour, as they disrupt the process"
  • "I need to advise that you need NOT to take children ( under 13 years old ) because the catacombs tour is not appropriate." See review
  • "Most of the time is indoors, some steps but quite manageable." See review


863 Reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
, Mar 2020
A great educational tour of NY city. Guide Kyle was knowledgeable of area and the history of the catacombs.
Great Tour
, Mar 2020
This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. We will definitely be coming back with grandchildren
Highly recommend
, Mar 2020
We loved our tour sooooo very much!!! Kyle was a great tour, inviting, kind, and of course informative. We enjoyed learning history of the neighborhood and seeing the beautiful church.
Putt8ng the "fun" in funeral!
, Mar 2020
Interesting historical site in a great neighborhood to explore. Our host Kyle was a first rate tour guide: knowledgeable, energetic, and amusing. This is a definite for those who like an esoteric "off the beaten path" experience.
Great Tour!
, Mar 2020
The church is beautiful & the tour guide was so knowledgeable. We enjoyed the experience and loved hearing the history.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for sharing!
A well kept secret!
, Mar 2020
This was an interesting tour, one few New Yorkers even know about. Being able to see and hear the organ on 3/8 was pretty greats.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for sharing!
Brittany was great- sad souvenir experience
, Mar 2020
It was an amazing tour. Our guide Brittany was extremely knowledgeable and lively. This tour would have been a been a 5 star experience if they hadn't sold me empty bottles when I bought holy water...
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
So sorry for disappointment in the gift purchase. You are correct. We should have been more specific in the description of the holy water container. But we are thrilled you appreciated our guide's efforts.
Great Tour- sad souvenir experience
, Mar 2020
I loved our guide Brittany, she was crazy knowledgeable and lively. It was a wonderful tour! The only reason I didn't give this experience 5 stars is because I bought 3 holy waters as souvenirs and they were all just empty bottles.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
I just responded above to your disappointment with the souvenir purchase. Again, I apologize.
Nice guide
, Mar 2020
Sadly, the Church was having a funeral followed by Mass. I wish we had been told we were not going to be able to see the Church interior including the organ. We would have rescheduled.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
So sorry you were disappointed. We are often not told until the last minute that the working church is put off limits to us for tour.
Could have been better
, Mar 2020
The tour guide kept stopping to answer his Walkie talkie. It could have been much better with better planning and coordination.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
So sorry for your interrupted tour. It is most unusual for our visitors to be inconvenienced in the way you described.

Product code: 41393P2

Explore Similar Things to Do