Recent Searches
Clear

Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril

star-4.593 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Negril, Caribbean
Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Take an infomative all-level horseback ride along the Jamaican shoreline, learning about local flora and fauna as you go. Set out from Negril along lush coastal trails, encountering peacocks, hens and turkeys and enjoying samplings from the island's native fruit trees. Discover the roles of the area's medicinal plants like fever grass and aloe vera from your guide, taste sugar from an 18th century mill and mosey through mangroves toward a hidden beach for a trot through Caribbean waters.
  • A 2.5-hour informative horseback ride through the Jamaican countryside and along the beach
  • Ride a horse along Jamaica’s scenic turquoise shoreline
  • Learn about local plants and wildlife from a friendly guide
  • Includes hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide & use of all necessary equipment
Hotel pickup and drop-off offered from Negril Hotels
Reggae Horseback Ride in Negril
Face masks, bathing suit, towel, camera, mosquito spray, suntan lotion, water
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

We pick up at all Negril Hotels and surrounding Negril area ONLY.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 6 years
  • Maximum 10 persons
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reggae Horseback Riding
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril ?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
93 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews
star-2
Disappointed
mcgowan1908
, Aug 2022
Extremely upset at the owner of this tour. He picked me up at the beginning & seemed very nice. Then after the tour he REFUSED to take me back to my hotel room! I was beyond pissed off! Especially as a tourist on vacation. He literally made me buy a taxi to take back to my hotel (which I had to wait another 35 mins for !!) bad customer service! No hospitality. He the owner could have dropped me off to my hotel but refused.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
The pickup location was listed as legends on the beach. This is where the guest requested pickup. There are four additional persons in the vehicle that was taking them back to their respective hotel. There was no mention that she will need drop off at another hotel which is 25 minutes out of the direction that the other four (4) guest are going. It would have been ok to request drop off so that there would have been time to ask the other four (4) guest. To date we were not aware that she was not staying at the hotel where she was picked up. She has never ridden a horse before and she totally enjoyed this experience. However, there was no mention of the actual excursion in this review.
star-1
Accidentally booking...
Matik_L
, Jul 2022
Accidentally booking because off such a great distance and I was just realizing yesterday that my card had been charged twice so I’m going to contact my bank about fraud.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We received a call from this guest ( Malik). He wanted to know if we would pickup in St Catherines, Jamaica ( which is 3 hours drive to our location). I told Malik ( this review guest), that he had booked our horseback tour online, so he should contact the online company and they will refund his booking. He never paid us directly. He is way too far and he thought we would travel to St Catherines, ( almost Kingston, Jamaica to take him to negril and then take him back.). Here he is writing a review with a one star rating and he didn’t even do the tour). Not sure who charged his card twice as he is alleging but he is writing a review for reggae horseback, why? I hope TripAdvisor will remove this review.
star-1
Beware
Morgan_G
, Jun 2022
I chose to book an experience with this company based on the good reviews. I wish I hadn’t. Owner was rude, deceptive, and very unprofessional. He hung up on me while I was trying to arrange transportation. He stopped responding so we did not get to ride the horses and he did not provide a refund.
star-5
Worth it. Great staff too.
Charleen_J
, Jun 2022
The entire trip was great. The driver was wonderful. The guides went above and beyond. They took great photos and we're kind and knowledge. The horses were sweet and have a good life there. When they aren't giving tours, they get to roam the land. Def recommend.
star-5
Excellent equine experience 😊
Elaine_G
, May 2022
Absolutely loved all of it tbh. The guides were great - always felt really safe as I’m an inexperienced rider. My horse, Charlie, was brilliant - enough ‘fiesta’ to have his own personality but didn’t feel unsafe. We were on horseback for over 2 hours - expected to ache like heck afterwards/the next day but didn’t. Loved it and will definitely do it again if I return to Negril. 😊
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your lovely review of reggae horseback riding .delighted that you found both our experienced guides and our quiet & gentle horses amazing. We are the closest horseback to negril hotels and in the region. We offer free unlimited photos & videos to every rider using their own phones and cameras. No charge at all. We offer both group rides and private tours . Private tours with private guides, ideally for anyone who prefers privacy, health reasons and More romantic experience. Ride at your own pace. Our beach ride is fantastic and we are excited you lived all three phases of this 2 hour tour. Shaded trail ride, our one mile beach ride and then our famous ride n’ swim in the ocean. FREE UNLIMITED Photos taken by guides using your phones. Thank you for visiting and we hope you will come again.
star-5
Unbelievable experience
Jamie_F
, May 2022
It was amazing. A beautiful 30 min ride through the countryside opens to a beautiful private beach. The guides are fantastic and the horses are so gentle. Your guide takes a bunch of pics of you enjoying the experience. I would highly recommend as a once in a lifetime experience!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review. Our horses are quiet & gentle. We have the most experienced guides who are all very patient. We are delighted that you found our guides to be fantastic. Yes we provide free photos and offers private tours as well. Thank you
star-5
A relaxing AND adventurous excursion
Tanisha_S
, Apr 2022
Riding on a swimming horse in the beautiful waters of Negril, Jamaica. An unforgettable memory! This was a solo excursion. My tour guide was nice. I felt safe with him as he guide the horses went into the water. I was scared as first as we got deeper in, but it ended up being one of the most amazing experiences I've had. The horses are well trained and smart, the know the routes well. And my tour guide took some great pics and videos of me with my phone. Highly recommend!
star-5
Unique, memorable excursion from Negril
Derek_B
, Mar 2022
Super cool, memorable experience. Pickup from the hotel (along Seven-Mile Beach in Negril) could have been easier, but everything eventually worked out. Great guides & super sweet horses. And they can swim!!! Many great picture opportunities, and worth venturing off the beaten path. Wasn’t your typical excursion, but felt active enough without doing anything too crazy. Def one of the highlights of our trip!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. Delighted that you found our horses quiet, gentle and super sweet. We have the most experienced guides. We offer regular group tours and private tours as well, for both beginners and expert riders alike. We are closest horseback in negril approximately 15 minutes drive. Our shaded trails are picturesque, and our one mile beach ride and ocean swim is amazing. We offer free unlimited photos/videos with guides using your phones. Thank you for visiting, travel safe until next time.
star-5
Excellent
Helen_W
, Mar 2022
Great experience Carlos guide was friendly and couldn’t do more to help he organised lots video and photo opportunities and was very happy to help
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on exceeding your expectations. We are reputed as the number horseback riding experience. We have very gentle & quiet horses that are all home bred. We know our horses . We have the most experienced tour guides. They are patient and very accommodating. We are delighted that you had an excellent expert. We offer FREE unlimited photos/videos. We are specialists with beginners, first-timers, kids, elderly & expert riders alike.we offer regular large group tours and private tours. Thank you for visiting reggae horseback.
star-5
Best horseback riding tour
peekabooxp
, Mar 2022
Super fun horse back riding tour. You ride along a shaded path towards the beach and horses run into the ocean where you then go “horse surfing” which was super fun but def hang on haha. The guides were friendly and are great photographers. Going into the water with the horses was my favorite part. They call you the day before to tell you your pick up time so don’t miss it. Bring towels, water, bathing suit.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We are closest horseback in negril tourist region only 15 minutes drive. Our guides are super amazing. Our horses are quiet & gentle for first timers, beginners, kids & experts all alike. All our horses are home bred & trained. Shaded trail ride to the beach and another one mile of beach ride. Our ocean ride n swim is fabulous. Free unlimited Photos/videos taken by your guides. We are delighted you had super fun time riding I’m with reggae horseback riding. We also offer regular group ride and private tours. Riders enjoy riding at their level. Thank you for visiting.
star-5
Great trip, definitely bring insect repellent
Shaun_R
, Jan 2022
Great experience, especially riding in the ocean and the sunset views. Insect repellent a must though! We didn’t use and paid the price
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your visit.glad you had a great experience! Our horses are lovely, well cared for , quiet & gentle for beginners & expert riders alike. We are 15 minutes from negril town. Our trail ride is beautiful, fantastic beach ride and fun ocean swim. Please come again.
star-2
If you're traveling solo, avoid!
Shanintra_A
, Dec 2021
I gave two stars because the tour guide Carlos did his job and I can see how the tour itself could be nice... if they actually honored the title and gave it in a SMALL-GROUP. Please avoid if you are solo traveling. Despite there being a group of 4 waiting for the tour like me, the tour guide was instructed to take me alone. I felt very uncomfortable and did not begin to enjoy the tour until about 40 minutes in. I asked why I was going alone and he (Carlos) said that they were a separate group. However, that really shouldn't matter if it is a small group excursion. We were a small group that became friendly and were excited to go together. But he took me alone. I passed them on the way back. It would help if the organizer would be mindful of the optics of telling a single female to go into the jungle with a tour guide in another country by herself. Also, Paul planned to charge me $20 US for a round trip cab ride, despite the website saying it was included in the excursion price. I had to call back to inquire about this new fee before he acknowledged that he was in error. So make sure you know what you're paying for and stick to it.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and we are sincerely sorry for your discomfort. Reviews speaks volumes but we haven’t heard how fantastic the trail ride was, was beautiful was the beach ride, overlooking the south coast mountainside, and how much you enjoyed the ocean ride n swim. You didn’t mention that we offer unlimited free photos/videos, and you had a private guides at your side. So we offer Private tours as well, along with our regular group ride. There is a premium cost for Persons who book private rides. On your tour day those four persons had booked a private ride as they consider not wanting to wear a facemask, not wanting maybe to expose anyone to them and being forced to ride with others who are not vaccinated, others who might be asymptomatic, others who are not as considered if they have symptoms of covid. The private rider is taking that extra precaution for themselves & their families. However, there are riders who also chose private tour because they are well experienced riders and chose to ride at their level and as such the group ride would be quite boring for their liking. On this day, you were the only other person who arrived as someone in other party wasn't feeling Well. So You actually got a private tour with Carlos but paid far less than what the others paid for their private tour. They did not write to complain that you shouldn't have gotten the private tour because it wasn't your fault why the others for the group ride did not show up. You ought to have your tour as you had previously planned your horseback and who shows up shouldn't have anything to do with your tour. The transfer will cost $20 if someone made a reservation but did not pay online for their tour. We get so many reservations with persons traveling single. It also make sense as single bookings tend to cancel quite often as their previous plans/reservations can change on a dime without an ounce of consideration that a supplier has made your plans for them, including pickup. That never seem to matter about why new you cannot change as easily as businesses/others are waiting for you. It's just the way it is. Single Travellers meet new people and decide to go with their new friends on day of tours. And why not. We missed the fact that you had already paid online. That was our mistake, when we realized we called you back and apologized, you were picked up by a private driver, on time too. You got upgraded to a private tour with Carlos. You got unlimited Free photos/videos which every other attraction charges US$100 or more. You got personalized photos. You didn't have anyone getting more attention. As a beginner, you got private guide to hold your horse while he was riding beside you so you could learn to trot & canter on our one mile private beach. You got far beyond what other readers would not have imagined if we did not respond.Our consideration is to ensure that reviews are positive so that when you are making a decision to chose where to ride, you would feel comfortable that this is the right place to go horseback. Our reviews before yours were written by many who made you feel Comfortable to want to chose us.You chose us. Your private tour by Carlos with Free photos/videos was amazing & awesome. You came back excited. You gave Carlos a $5 tip. He appreciated your $5. I hope that you had a fantastic experience and we wish you a happy happiness, wishing you excellent health and safety in your travels. Please feel free to contact us next time visiting Jamaica. We will make it better for you next time. Thank you for visiting.
star-5
Amazing Amazing Amazing.....
Chenesha_H
, Dec 2021
Amazing Amazing Amazing.. They were so accommodating. Make sure you bring a towel, water and pay attention too the pickup time. 😆... its around 30 min before Departure... I loved it.. will recommend to others
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your reviews. We have amazing guides with lots of experience. Our horses are the most quiet & gentle tailored for beginners & experts alike. We are 15 minutes drive from negril, offering regular group ride and private tours. We offer a beautiful trail ride, with one mile of beach ride and also our famous ocean swim. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and found the experience awaken& amazing. Thank you and we wish you a prosperous 2022. take care!
star-5
This place rocks mon
Aaron_A
, Nov 2021
What an amazing day we had a blast and in the end I got engaged the guys were great they took pictures and helped me plan the surprise it worked out great and she said yes so that’s even better couldn’t have picked a better place you won’t regret reggae horseback !!!!! Top notch mon !!!!!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your review of reggae horseback riding-the number one horseback trail, beach ride & ocean swim with Free unlimited photos & videos. We have the most gentle horse with very experienced tour guides. We specialize in horseback, children experts and designed for beginners & expert riders alike. We are delighted that you found reggae horseback to be the most Awesome horseback and that “ we Rock “!!!! We are the closest horseback to NEGRIL seven mile beach offering combo tours to YS Falls, Pelican Bar, Appleton Rum Factory, Mayfield Falls, Rucks Cafe & more. We offer private tours, private driver, private guides, ride at your own pace, which allows for a more personalized experience. Tell us what is your request and we Taylor your private tour so you can propose to your loved ones -like you did. We are here to offer total satisfaction and exceed your expectations! We offer the longest beach ride of one mile & then your famous ocean swim with Free photos & videos.we thank you for visiting reggae horseback and we hope to see you again. Travel safe & please wear your face mask !!!
star-5
What a great experience
Brigitte_D
, Nov 2021
This was a great excursion. We took a relaxing ride on a trail where Collin pointed out different herbs like basil and cloves. The horses were well trained. We ended up at the beach. We had a great time riding in the water. They had no problem taking pictures with my cell phone. Only con: it would help to be provided some water. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this. It was worth the money paid.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you Bridgett for your review. We are the closest horseback in NEGRIL. We offer rides for beginners & experts alike. We have well trained horses and experienced guides. Free unlimited photos, trail ride, beach ride & ocean swim. Private rides available, choose your own riding time.
star-5
Best Experience in Negril. DO THIS is you don't do anything else.
Jason_C
, Aug 2021
Upon booking and arranging pick up Paul was extremely accommodating, pleasant, and professional. Great Price for all that you get from this experience. The horses are very calm, well trained and cared for. Our guides were knowledgeable, great conversations, and personality. Carlos told us about the land crabs, termite nest, indigenous animals. Basically a beautiful Jamaican nature tour on the way to a gorgeous private beach. I swear they took about 60 pictures and videos for us, plenty to capture this memory. We had the horses way out in the water for a good amount of time. Super fun and unique experience. You are on the horses the entire time too, compared to some other reviews. This is a full 2 hour+ excursion. Remember to wear your bathing suit, water shoes if you don't want to get your shoes wet, and mosquito repellent as they state when you book. Mosquitoes were not bad but you can get a nibble or two lol. I would DEFINITELY recommend Booking this excursion when you come to Negril, we'll be back with more people I'm sure.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
We are 15 minutes from negril town. All our guides are fully vaccinated and very well experienced. Our quiet & gentle horse are all healthy and awaits your arrival. We offer regular group tour & private tour as well. Our trail ride is magnificent. Our pristine beach ride overlooking the south coast mountains majestic and our famous ocean ride n’ swim is unforgettable. We are delighted you had such a great time. Thank you for your positive review. We offer transport and booking morning, noon or afternoon are all memorable horseback experiences. Thank you for visiting
star-5
Fun!
TaiJaune_R
, Jul 2021
Had an amazing time! I booked for a group of 7 and we were all very well taken care of. The crew was very knowledgeable and fun! We even got to meet an Ostrich lol
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you Taijuane for your review of Reggae Horseback riding. We are only 15 minutes and the closest beach ride n’ swim in negril. Amazing guides and very quiet & gentle horses. We offer horseback for beginners & experts alike. We offer regular group & Even more personalized private tours. Experience our shaded trails, learn about our flora & fauna on our beautiful 900 acre ranch with one mile of beach to enjoy horseback like you did , at its best. Our guides are your photographers offering free photos/videos using your cameras. We are delighted that it was a FUN for your group. We thank you for visiting. Travel safe !
star-5
Reggae Horseback Riding is AWESOME
Wayne_C
, Jan 2021
Reggae Horse Riding was the BEST. Not only was it a 2 hour+ ride on a private, isolated beach, they also took as many pictures as we wanted, even 2 videos while we were in the water, at no charge. Several other Negril Horse riding businesses charge for lockers, to take ONE picture and can have as many as 10-12 riders. My wife and I were the only riders and the team made us feel special. Paul, the owner, and his team did a great job and this is one of our BEST memories on this trip to Jamaica.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you Wayne_C fir your review if reggae horseback riding and also for giving us the opportunity to respond. We are located 15 minutes drive from Negril Town and being the closest horseback to All Negril Hotels we offer regular large group tours as well as private rides available upon direct request. Our 2 hour trail rides, beach ride and our famous ride n’ swim in the ocean allows everyone beginners & experts alike to enjoy an amazing experience at reggae horseback riding. Our horses are all gentle and our guides are well experience. No riding experience is required at all. Guides will use your cameras/phones and take unlimited photos/videos upon your request for such services.we thank you Wayne for visiting reggae horseback and we look forward to having you visit us again. We wish you a safe travel home.
star-4
our honeymoon
Jackie_F
, Dec 2020
swimming in the water with the horses, guides were very polite and explained things along the way. make sure you take water
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you for reviewing reggae Horseback riding and also for the opportunity to respond. We are the closest horseback tour in negril only 15 minutes. Our two hour tour can either be large group or you can book a private tour without FACEMASK. Our four mile trail ride is beautiful, and riding through the red mangrove tunnel is amazing Our one mile beach ride is majestic overlooking the south coast mountainside. We have very experienced guides and the the most gentle horses. As a member of the British horses society we take care of all our horses. Experience riders can trot & canter on our beach. Private rides offers a more relaxed experience as your group has private guides so that you ride at your personal level and at your own pace. Private drivers awaits, and you skip the long lines. Photos & videos are FREE when guides using your own cameras. We hope you had a wonderful horseback tour and we hope to see you again.
star-5
Great Choice
Denise_T
, Nov 2020
This was my second choice, but very happy with my selection. Even though I made an error in communication, they were kind enough to still accommodate us within 2 hours of our originally scheduled time. The guides were very patient with us. We completely enjoyed the horseback riding, especially on the beach.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Thank you Denise for your review and for giving us an opportunity to respond. We are the closest horseback beach ride n’ swim in negril with 15 minutes drive. All our guides are very experienced and our horses are well trained, choose your own riding time, no riding experience is needed. We offer private tours, private guides, no FACEMASK , no long lines, no waiting in line as private guides and horses await your arrival. Take cameras/phones as Free photos/videos is done by private guides for you. Regular large group rides require FACEMASK and scheduled times. This eco-friendly, nature lovers paradise is beautiful with such amazing sight seeing on our shaded trails, a lovely one mile beach ride and our famous ocean swim. Enjoy this south coast picturesque Mountain View’s, wetlands, flora & fauna, see wildlife at its best. Learn about our medicinal herbs & spices. We thank you for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril
Small-Group Reggae Horseback Riding in Negril

star-4.593

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.03

star-4.539

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-3.59

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$142.57

star-51

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$205.13

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$178.21

star-4.518

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$117.95

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$178.21
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations