Recent Searches
Clear

Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
München, Germany
Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Delve into Munich’s dark past and the birth of the Nazi ideology on a revealing 2.5-hour city walking tour. Led by a knowledgeable guide, discover the sites that provided backdrops to Adolf Hitler and his followers as they set about founding the Third Reich, giving Munich its title as the ‘Capital of the Nazi Movement.’ See beer-halls where Nazi brown shirts first gathered, buildings from where Hitler delivered speeches, and memorials to opposers of the movement, all as your guide charts the events that saw Hitler take power in 1933.
  • 2.5-hour Munich and the Third Reich walking tour with an expert guide
  • Learn how Munich saw the rise of Adolf Hitler and the Nazis in the 1920s and 1930s
  • See streets and buildings where Hitler fought his way to power and gave speeches
  • View beer-halls where Nazi fanatics gathered and sites linked to the 1938 anti-Semitic pogrom of Kristallnacht
  • Visit memorials to those who died opposing the hate-filled Nazi ideology
  • Hear about the Nazi propaganda machine and lead-up to World War II from an informed guide
  • Small-group tour with max 15 people
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Dachauer Str. 4 , Dachauer Str. 4, 80335 München, Germany

You find our office and meeting spot at Dachauer Straße 4, a shop with large glass windows and a small parking space infront. We are facing north side. Please come and meet us inside this location 20 min prior to departure time.

Marienplatz , Marienplatz, 80331 München, Germany

The tour concludes in the city center of Munich

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Radius Tours GmbH
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It does involve a good bit of walking at a brisk pace so be prepared for that." See review
  • "Please know there is not a stop for a toilet until the very end." See review
  • "An action packed few hours, this is a great tour to see some of the sites of Munich by foot, and hear some of the history." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
1,557 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 1,557 reviews
star-5
Very Informative!!!
Stephen_S
, Aug 2022
Our guide was great! It was wonderful to walk the streets and learn about the history all around us. Munich holds so many stories and it was good to experience the insights. Thank you,
star-5
Interesting tour of Munich's history.
Shelly_N
, Aug 2022
Interesting tour of the history of Hitler and the Third Reich in Munich. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the time period and Hitler's rise to power in Munich.
star-5
Worth it!
dadamo1
, Aug 2022
Informative tour for all ages. Travelled with sons 12 and 15 who thoroughly enjoyed. Lots of walking, but nothing too strenuous.
star-1
**DO NOT BOOK**!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jason_L
, Aug 2022
DISGRACEFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had to rebbok with them as we were sick and they would not refund even though we went with them again the next day!!!!!!!!!!!!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Jason, thanks a lot for your honest opinion on our tour. As you see on your voucher in your booking, there is a 24 hour cancellation policy in place. I am sorry, but we need to ask each guest to comply by the cancellation policy in order to schedule our guides and to have our guest lists for each tour available. If you are unable to join a tour, and we get this message inside of the 24 hours, we sadly are not able to reschedule your tour. I am sure this is pretty much understandable. If you then wish to attend the tour another day, which you did, we need to ask you to re-book your tour, as we can not use any credit of this booking you did not attend, as it was not able to cancel anymore. I am very sorry if this created problems for you, but you signed up for this tour accepting our cancellation policy. Thanks for your understanding. Daniel
star-4
Walking tour of Hitler era
John_D
, Aug 2022
Guide was very knowledgeable (Achim) and able to answer many questions. Showed us all of the key buildings in the area as we may've missed some if we took our own personal tour. Keep us moving the entire 2.75 hours
star-5
A March back into history
mrumley
, Aug 2022
Our guide Josh was very informative, patient, and took the time to answer all of our questions. Josh told the story of the rise and fall of the Nazis including spending ample time on the victims of the terrorist regime.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for reviewing our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour. thanks also for choosing Radius Tours.
star-5
Informative experience.
Shantelle_B
, Aug 2022
Josh was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable and provided and interesting and informative tour. Great way to learn about the history that room place while experiencing some of the locations.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for your review of our Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
star-5
Brilliant!
Scott_N
, Aug 2022
Outstanding tour. So many historical places visited on the tour. Absolutely a must do if you like world war two history.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for the nice review Scott. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment.
star-5
Well worth it!
Paige_S
, Aug 2022
Josh was great! It was very informative, it was nice to walk around the city to get some history and learn about it.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the nice review Paige. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment.
star-5
Josh was an excellent guide, very informative
Carolyn_F
, Aug 2022
Josh knew a lot of background knowledge and was very enthusiastic. The tour was very organized and complete
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review of our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
star-5
Excellent Explanation of How the Nazis Came to Power
Paul_S
, Aug 2022
Excellent walk through and history lesson on how the Nazis came into power, where they met, and the historical locations where it all occurred in Munich. Also provides a great view of the Munich building architecture and orientation around central Munich.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the five star review of our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour Paul.
star-1
Terrible experience - disorganized and unprofessional
Quan_Z
, Aug 2022
This tour agency is highly disorganized and unprofessional. On the morning of the tour , we checked in with the guide and the office and was told to wait outside of the office for the tour to start. We waited right outside and intently for 20 minutes (heard 3 other tour guides calling their group)and just to find out that our guide has already left…without even realizing that he missed us from the start - basic tour guide 101. The office was not apologetic and even lied about the situation…they refused for a refund and asked us try to run to catch up or register for the 3PM tour….which neither is a viable option for us so we ended up paying for no tour at all. Highly disappointed in the tour agency and the office administration. Will definitely not take them again.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are sorry to read you had a negative experience with us. Given on a daily basis hundreds of guests successfully check in and depart on our tours as scheduled we feel the comment of our being disorganized and unprofessional somewhat of an exaggeration. Though we respect all individuals' right to subjective criticism based on unique experience. To this particular situation in question it is unfortunate and I’m sure frustrating that you missed your scheduled tour. As I'm sure you can appreciate due to the high volume of tours departing in a morning we ask guests to wait outside of the office for their tour group to be gathered. Guests are reminded of their tour departure time and informed the name of the guide they are to listen/ look out for (all our guides have lanyards with name tags on) Our guides call out names of guests and hand them tickets to check they have the right people on the right tour. I believe if you checked in with the guide you were also handed a ticket. Could this be? If this was the case it is your responsibility to stay with the guide from that point. Or at the very least look for where they are at the scheduled departure time. We try to have our tours depart punctually (which is also why we ask guests to arrive 15 mins before the scheduled departure time) so if in the rare case our guests notice the tour has left without them or they can't see their guide at the scheduled departure time we can easily direct them to catch up with the group at the first stop. On this particular occasion I believe we were first notified in the office of any issue shortly after 9:00 over 15 mins after the tour was scheduled to depart (8:45). Perhaps the 20 mins waiting intently was already after the tour had departed? Once our office staff were made aware of the situation though a map and directions were offered as a solution in order for the tour group to be caught up with. This offer was refused. A refund was not offered but the offer of joining the afternoon tour was. This was also refused. We feel our staff did their best to handle this situation appropriately and provided suitable solutions to help out.
star-5
Aileen is a great guide. Highly recommend this tour
Johan_D
, Aug 2022
Our guide, Aileen, was fantastic. She tells the story in a very interesting way. It was raining on and off that dsy and she always found good locations for us to enjoy the tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks Johan. We are glad you had an enjoyable time with our guide Aileen on the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
star-5
Knowledgeable and passionate
Sheila_S
, Aug 2022
Josh was knowledgable and passionate. Although he can walk fast, he always gave time for the slower walkers to catch up. He also did his best to try to find us shade as he talked.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the thoughtfull review of our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour with our guide Josh.
star-4
Excellent informative tour
Melissa_V
, Aug 2022
Excellent overview of Munich’s role in the development of the Nazi party and Hitler’s rise to power. The walking is not too hard or long; there were frequent stops along sites where Nazi history occurred.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the review Melissa. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-5
Munich, third Reich Tour
Cornelius_j
, Jul 2022
Absolutely one of the best WW 2 Tous ever. Great job showing how many others were complicit in this horrific tragedy
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thanks for the five star review of our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
star-5
Walk Back Thru the Dark History of the Third Reich
Gary_A
, Jul 2022
Achim was a most excellent tour guide! His knowledge of the history of Hitler and the Third Reich was exceptional. Told from a native’s point of view, it was interesting to hear what a German thinks of what happened and how it relates to what’s happening in the world today. Wear comfy shoes, bring some water and feel free to ask questions. There is a bathroom break at 40 minutes in the tour. Ausgeseichneit!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the kind and helpful words to future guests Gary. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
star-5
Best tour -simple
Sean_M
, Jul 2022
Michael was our guide. I would say that this was one of the most interesting tours ever. The delivery and knowledge was second to none. Mike has a degree in history and brought to life the historical reality using photographs of the period and backed up with the historical context
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hey Sean, thanks for the review. Its great to read you found so much value in the experience.
star-5
Fantastic tour with Josh...
Noel_D
, Jul 2022
Fantastic tour with Josh enjoyed every minute with him,explained everything very well and answered my questions
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review Noel. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours for your Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.
star-5
What an amazing...
seharris1293
, Jul 2022
What an amazing excursion! Josh was the best and he was so knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the five star review of our Third Reich Munich Walking Tour.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour
Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

star-4.51551

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$23.88

star-4.5321

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.07

star-4.5450

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$16.61

star-440

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.77

star-570

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$16.61

star-528

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$41.53

star-00

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.77

star-51

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$41.53

star-52

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$14.54
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations