Recent Searches

Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals

Mexico City, Mexico
Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals

From $40.44

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Visit Frida Kahlo’s house, the colonial-era neighborhood of Coyoacan, and Xochimilco’s floating gardens on a small-group tour in Mexico City that explores art, architecture, and history. You’ll get a fascinating glimpse into Kahlo’s life and work in “Casa Azul,” then take in the main sites in Coyoacan. Next, head to Xochimilco for an hour-long boat ride in a trajinera, following a series of flower-lined canals. The tour concludes with a trip through the UNAM campus, including a series of beloved murals by Diego Rivera, O’Gorman, and Siqueiros.
  • Full-day tour of Coyoacan, Xochimilco, and UNAM
  • See Frida Kahlo’s “Casa Azul”
  • Optional stop at Leon Trotsky’s house (own expense)
  • Boat ride through Xochimilco’s floating gardens
  • Tour of the UNAM campus, stadium, and murals
  • Includes pickup and drop-off at selected hotels
  • Entrance fees included
  • Tour is wheelchair accessible
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Frida Kahlo entrance fee is included if tour option "Frida Kahlo Include" Is selected
Food and drinks
Frida Kahlo entrance fee is excluded if tour option "Frida Kahlo not included" Is selected

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM

Please arrive 15 minutes before your selected start time for pickup. Your operator can coordinate exact time and location.

Your Hotel information is very important, without it we can not provide pickup time. We can pick up/drop off in any hotel or Airbnb located in Zona Rosa, Zocalo, Reforma, Roma, Condesa and Polanco área in Mexico City.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • The Frida Kahlo Museum is closed on the following dates: 01 January, 21 March, 01 May, 15 and 16 of September, 21 November and 25 December.
  • Anahualcalli museum is included in the Frida Kahlo Entrance, however if you want to go is on your own (in this case the transfer back will not be included)
  • Your Hotel information is very important, without it we can not provide pickup time.
  • Due to the current pandemic, the ticket to Frida Kahlo may be subject to availability due to the low capacity allowed. In case this happens only the entrance fee ticket will be reimbursed.
  • Frida Kahlo Museum is close on Monday´s
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please be aware this tour has several options, with and without Frida Kahlo Museum, select the more convenient for you
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Encuentro T
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.
What is the policy on sanitization during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.
What is the social distancing policy during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "You could do this on your own, but believe me, between the metro, waiting on line, the light rail, and walking, it's worth it to go with Viator for something like this." See review
  • "Excellent excursion but a guide with more fluency in the English language would have even made the tour better." See review


20 Reviews
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews
Tour advertised incorrectly
, Oct 2021
Guide & driver were kind, but tour is not advertised correctly and there was very little information or history shared. Also need more time spent outside van - morning felt wasted going to a souvenir market for almost an hour which was not advertised, and the little information about stops given to us was told to us from front of van when we could’ve just stepped outside and walked around. The morning time could’ve been spent more in coyoacan. The hour+ drive to the floating gardens was in complete silence, the guide had no history to share, points of interest, etc. Almost missed our stop at casa azul (self-guided) because tour guide had misinformation from company. Floating gardens was the highlight of this day trip but this part also didn’t feel like a tour - no history or background info was given to us. The driver did their best but this tour itinerary should be restructured and talking point materials should be supplied to guide in both English and Spanish. Lastly, the tour guide rarely had his face mask on inside the bus which is a real risk.
I could have done without...
, Oct 2021
I could have done without the murals and gone straight to Xochilmo and then Casa Azul. There was a little confusion about entrance tickets to Casa Azul. Other than that, we had a great time.
Do not recommend using
, Sep 2021
They kept taking us to all these places that were not listed as part of the tour and "what to expect." For example, we stopped at a couple stadiums for some reason. Most of our time was spent on the tour van which just made the day more tiring. The best parts of the trip were the random street food (found at the silver shop at yet another unnecessary stop) and xochimilco which felt way too quick. When we got to coyacan, the guide wouldn't let us stop where we wanted to and made us go to a churro place. We finally got annoyed and told him that we're going to a coffee shop with or without him. We opted out of the Frida Kahlo Museum.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Neema Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, your comments make us improve our service, I'm really sorry you didn´t enjoy your tour at the maximum. I will keep extra attention on your comments to verify with our operator it won´t happen again, unfortunately, due to pandemic our tour had to change due to some places are closed and we try to fill them with other stops. Besides this, I hope you enjoyed some parts of your tour! We hope to see you soon!
Great experience, private tour.
, Sep 2021
We booked a private tour and it was the best we could have done. Our guide was don Rafa, she was amazing, trying not only to take us to the places included as part of the booked tour but as many others he could. He is ver kind and knowledgeable. Coordination was very good, he picked us up at the hotel but given that the street was closed due to some events, we managed to communicate with us and align on the best place. He gives you tips on what to do or not to do when you are on certain places like in Las Trajineras in Xochimilco. I will keep using this site to book my tour. Don Rafa, fully recommended.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi Fernando, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your experience, we are very happy you had a great day with us! And for sure I will send your comments to Rafa. We hope to see you soon! Best!
Mexico City Highlights
, Mar 2020
Excellent excursion but a guide with more fluency in the English language would have even made the tour better.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Poor tour.
, Feb 2020
This tour sounds great but it is not what it seems. You only see the outside of the stadium at UNAM and in the distance you glimpse the library. You are taken to a tacky souvenir shop for 45 minutes! The food served on the boat at Xochimilco is way overpriced and poor quality. The back seat of the van has no suspension and the seat slides sideways when you turn corners. The on route information is minimal. I would not recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great overview of two top sights in CDMX
, Jan 2020
The two top tourist attractions outside of the area from the historic district out to Chapultepec Park are Coyoacán and Xochimilco; this tour combines both areas - the historic parts of Coyoacán, the Museo Frida Kahlo (avoiding the long lines to get in), and Xochimilco. You could do this on your own, but believe me, between the metro, waiting on line, the light rail, and walking, it's worth it to go with Viator for something like this. In addition, you get to meet interesting people - and riding on a trajinera with a group of people is a lot more fun than just with your traveling companion. On a side note, I've done this tour before, but this time brought someone else who had never been. After a confusing incident at the pickup location (we were told to get on a bus after showing the Viator confirmation) but unfortunately it was for another tour company - there were others on this bus going to numerous places and it left us all on the street near Bellas Artes but off the beaten path waiting for this other tour company to group people going to wherever they were supposed to go. Our Viator pickup arrived and, although we were 15 minutes early, we were not there; they waited; they contacted us, and picked us up at our unplanned location - which wasn't easy knowing CDMX morning traffic. We didn't miss a thing, and the rest of the people on the van didn't hate us for being the last, late ones. Thank you to the Viator/Encounter team, our guide Melissa (who is excellent) and our driver for making what could have been a let down into a wonderful day.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear jglsongs, Your comments and experiences are very important to us. As you say, the tour is better when you share it with a group of people. We are very happy to choose us for your tour in Frida and Xochimilco. Mexico is your home! BR
Frida Kahlo and other adventures
, Jan 2020
Mario was great. Very informative and kind man. The insight and history was great. Would do the tour again!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Nmalanizjr, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your tour. We will be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico! Have a great day!
Bad tour guide for an otherwise great tour
, Dec 2019
It can't be denied that these sites are interesting and important unfortunately we got stuck with a terrible tour guide and it ruined half the experience. We were told to be at the hotel of our lobby at 8:30am but the guide didn't show up until 9am. At that point people were restless and had gone off to find coffee which made him have to wait 7 whole minutes for us to gather and he glared and scolded us that entire time. The unhappiness continued when he informed us that he had not secured the tickets to Frida Kahlo's house until 2 pm and because of that, in order to hit all the attractions we would need to SKIP LUNCH. This is a 7 hour tour for 14 people; you can't just ask that they don't eat (or they should have given us some warning to pack a lunch). The ridiculousness continue when he refused to help us find a bathroom two hours into the tour. He acted like this request was unreasonable and said we should have "planned" to not use the bathroom for longer! His explanations were cursory and in some cases inaccurate and when someone in the group would correct him he would get annoyed (he told us, for example, that Frida's father was Austrian - he was of German background). At the UNAM murals he only showed us two and then rushed us out (I think there are 8 total, including one that was *right across* from the large one in the library, and he didn't know about or care to explain). We had to wait another 35 minutes to get to Xochimilco to use the bathroom. Once we got to Coyoacan, we managed to convince him that we needed a snack (it was 1:10pm), he tried to convince us to go to the 7/11 and was VERY upset that we decided to go to a Taqueria instead (no one wanted stuff from 7/11). We bought him lunch thinking we could improve his mood but he acted annoyed again, that people needed to use the restroom (the nerve of humans who need to pee!) and rushed us to the Blue House. Thankfully he didn't enter the House with us so we had a reprieve but let us go with a warning to use the restroom before we left because he would not be stopping. On the way back we inquired whether he could make two stops so that some people could stay at the crafts market and the answer not surprisingly was "no" Our 7 hour tour ended 20 min early as our "very busy" tour guide rushed us through every site and we were dropped off at the hotel with the clear sense that we didn't get our money's worth. Mario's poor English we could have accepted but lack of knowledge = unacceptable
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear 49deniset, I really sorry because of your bad experience. We can´t allow situations like this. Please let me know your name or booking reference, I will contact the operator and try to give you a 50% refund of your trip. We will contact you within the following days. We kind regards
This was a perfect combo tour when...
, Feb 2018
This was a perfect combo tour when we didn't have the whole day for a longer tour of these places. Victor was an excellent, experienced tour guy who spoke fluent English, who knew tons about Mexican history and culture etc. Skipping the line at the Kahlo museum was important, even so it was very crowded on a Sunday afternoon. The floating gardens at Xochimilco are lovely and relaxing, not to be missed. Another time I would take more time on my own with Kahlo museum and walking around Coyoacan, which was brief because of our 1 pm museum tickets. Note this says full-day tour, but we were picked up at 9 and finished up by 2 pm would have been more like 3 but we skipped lunch after the museum.

Compare Similar Experiences

Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals
Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals


6 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do