Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour

|
Firenze, Italy
Special Offer

From $61.89

$72.81  Save $10.92

Lowest Price Guarantee

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 10 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Get inside one of Florence's best-known buildings on this skip-the-line guided tour of the Duomo, including its famous dome. Climb to the top of the Cupola to enjoy spectacular views over Florence and to see Vasari's beautiful frescoes up close.
  • Skip-the-line tour of the cathedral and dome in Florence
  • Climb into the iconic dome of the Florence Duomo to see its amazing construction
  • See Vasari frescoes and stained glass windows up close
  • Enjoy incredible views over the city from the top of the dome
  • Get a tour of the cathedral's interior after visiting the dome
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide for the Dome
Headset
ENTRANCE RESERVED TICKETS
Lunch
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Piazza del Duomo, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy

Departure Time

2:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Meet your guide outside the dome's entrance and bypass the often-long queue with your skip-the-line ticket.

As you climb the 463 steps to the top of the cathedral's dome, learn about how the construction of the egg-shaped Cupola wasn't done until long after the cathedral was otherwise finished—leaving a gaping hole in the building for decades. Filippo Brunelleschi's revolutionary design for the dome within a dome is still widely revered among architects and was the largest dome in the world at the time it was completed.

From inside the dome, enjoy a wonderful view of parts of the cathedral you don't normally get to see—including Vasari's 'Last Judgement' frescoes—as well as spectacular views outside the cathedral overlooking the historic city of Florence.

Climb back down from the dome with your guide for a brief guided visit inside the cathedral itself to conclude the tour. Admire its Gothic interior, designed by Arnolfo di Cambio and Brunelleschi.

Please note: Most of the time on this tour is spent in the dome with a brief tour of the cathedral at the end. Your ticket allows you to stay in the cathedral after the tour concludes, and also gives you entry to the Baptistery and the Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (no skip-the-line access for those). There is no skip-the-line entry for the Duomo from November 1-March 31.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cupola del Brunelleschi
Climb 463 steps to go to the top of the Dome and enjoy a 360 degree stunning panorama over the whole city... breathtaking!!!
Duration: 1 hour 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Visitors are required to climb 463 steps. No elevator available
  • The climb is not advised for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia
  • ACCESS to the complex and VISIT TIMES may be subject to changes due to extraordinary events and depending on the guidelines of the Opera del Duomo
  • Rain policy: the tour may be cancelled due to rain, Alternatively, clients will be offered to join the Duomo Complex Tour on the same day at the same price
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • For children's reductions a valid I.D. is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • MANDATORY USE OF MASK AND LATEX GLOVES
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ACCORD Italy Smart Tours & Experiences

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Duomo Dome Skip the Line Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Wear good shoes, easy climb but avoid if heights are a issue." See review
  • "Also, if you have a fear of heights or claustrophobia, this tour may not be for you." See review
  • "The climb of 463 steps gets steep and narrow sometimes, but there are a few breaks along the way." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
164 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews
star-5
Excellent
Mark
, Sep 2020
Excellent tour in Brunelleschi’s dome , friendly and interesting guide. Wonderful views and landmarks pointed outs. Good value.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Thank you Mark for your beautiful review, our goal is to leave to all our clients a beautiful memory of our tours! The Brunelleschi's dome is absolutely a must see. We hope to have you back soon for a new experience!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The dome is a great experience enhanced by the guide.
Mark_B
, Aug 2020
Climbing the dome is a memorable experience. The guide was engaging and friendly and provided some detailed descriptions of the frescoes inside the dome as well as the architecture of the dome construction. His English was excellent - the tour included some Italians as well which sometimes delayed the tour as he needed to explain in both languages.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re so happy you enjoyed the tour, and we want to say thank you also for being patient with other participants not speaking english. We will report your compliments to our guide too. We hope to see you soon again on one of our tours.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
The view
Pep
, Aug 2020
Appalling fast! The tour was only 45minutes long. Rushed up all the steps! And then rushed down! Guide was good and placed in awkward situation.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we always take into consideration the point of view of our clients in order to improve our service. We are really sorry to read that you didn't find the tour to your satisfaction. This tour is one of our best-sellers, unfortunately new rules have been implemented due to the current health emergency and the duration of each visit has been shortened, this is the reason why our guide had to be faster than usual. We are sorry that this made your visit less pleasant than expected, but we are sure that climb the dome is an experience worth doing. We hope to see you again on one of our tours once the emergency is over, since our goal is to leave all our guests an unforgettable memory of our amazing city.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
A Basic Tour
Big_E
, Mar 2020
Tour was very basic. There was a information given, but it was very minimal. The guide was easy to find, wearing a bright yellow vest, which was very helpful. But the tour guide was not the best that it could have been. It was still an enjoyable experience!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thank you for leaving your review it is very helpful to us to improve our service. All our guides are certified and professional guides and this is probably our most popular tour, always really well appreciated. We would love to invite you again to visit Florence and have the oppurtunity to take you again inside the Duomo and up to the Dome. It's always a unique experience!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent activity
dorsini759
, Jan 2020
Guide was great. Easy to find meeting spot. The tour and views are fabulous. Easy to use the ear piece. Would do it again. Tickets also good for a few other sites.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you for your 5 stars review. We are glad to know that you liked the tour and everything went smoothly as organised.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Duomo
vadjax
, Dec 2019
Well organized tour Guide was waiting for us and provide with headphones at front entrance We entered the Duomo exactly at the scheduled time Special thanks to our guide(Natalie) for wonderful tour with very interesting, detailed information about the construction of the Duomo and it's history. Definitely will recommend Viator company to my friends.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for leaving your review and 5 stars rating. Our guide Natalia is very knowledgeable and makes our tours interesting and very appreciated from our custumers. We hope you will recommend us too, the tour operator name is ACCORD.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Dome climb
BC2019LC
, Dec 2019
Climbing the duomo dome was excellent! Amazing views! Great to skip the line-our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your 5 star rating review! We are glad you enjoyed the unique view from the dome. A visit that is worth to be done even only for that. A plus with our great and knowledgeable guides!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic!
Roam58011338279
, Nov 2019
Walking up to the top of the Duomo was tiring but completely worth it with the amount of interesting facts you got to learn with the amazing tour guide and the spectacular view at the end of the journey! Would recommend to anyone who wants to take the climb!!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for leaving your 5 star review, we appreciate our customers feedback. Yes definitely the tour require several steps to be climbed, precisely 463 and it is not recommended for people suffering from heart diseases, vertigo and claustrophobia. Travelers should be willing in give it a try, the breathtaking view will repay for the effort!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Trip to the Top
Charliev4242
, Nov 2019
The Florence Duomo is a miraculous site. A place that shouls be experienced. The trip to the Dome is pretty amazing. However, the "Skip the Line" in the title might be a little bit of a stretch. We stood in line until 2:30 for a 2:00 scheduled tour. Also, if you have a fear of heights or claustrophobia, this tour may not be for you. You also need to be prepared to climb over 400 steps to the top. It is magnificent when your there.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for leaving your review, we always appreciate our customers feedback. Yes definitely the tour is not for everybody as it is not recommended for people suffering from heart diseases/problems, vertigo and claustrophobia or other serious medical conditions Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level as yes, there is 463 steps to climb, but if you can make it you'll be definitely repaid for the effort from the breathtaking view! The waiting time unfortunately is not all in our hand as even with the skip the line included there is a priority line to stand in to access from the door with the reservation, however the waiting time is never too long. Keep in mind that the long queue to access the cathedral can easily pass the 2 hours. Only for this reason we think that the ticket with a reserved time worth the price.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Duomo tour no show!
mendozageri
, Nov 2019
Tour guide was not found, no meeting place mentioned in booking. I made several inquiries from other tour companies, no one knew of this tour. When i called the number, yes, using phone service to make an intetnational call, not in service kept coming up. It was a disappointment. I wish there had been other details to this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
We are really sorry to hear that you didn't find the meeting point, we have our assistants there for checking in the customers and they are quite visible as they wear a phosphorescent yellow vest written Accord on it. Moreover our customer service from the office is always available to help if contacted. We are not sure why you were not able to get in touch with us or Viator. Please if you can contact us by email at info@accordsolutions.it we will be happy to assist you and clarify what was the issue.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 7779P16

Explore Similar Things to Do