Recent Searches
Clear

Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour

|
Five Islands Village, Caribbean
Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Bottled water
Price is based on 2 people sharing 1 boat.
Gratuties

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We can pick up from any hotel in Antigua. We will notify you of the pick up time once booking is confirmed.

Ports

  • St John's, Antigua


Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
9/7/2021 - 12/30/2022
Monday - Sunday:09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Antigua Reef Riders
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
40 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-2 of 40 reviews
star-5
Great snorkeling tour!
Dana_C
, Jul 2020
We had such an amazing experience! Our tour guide Tigger was very knowledgeable of the reef and all the fish we saw that day. They were extremely proactive with COVID-19 regulations. Plus it was a lot of fun driving our own boat! Highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to go snorkeling.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Thank you for your kind review. It’s great to be back out on the water again! I know Tiggr enjoyed your tour. We’re glad you appreciated our new COVID-19 protocols which mean you wear a mask on land but once in the water you don’t need one on our perfect social-distancing friendly tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Disappointed
Peter S
, Nov 2019
I am a lifelong boater, fisherman and snorkeler but my wife is a novice and we are both seniors. Upon arriving in Antigua, I noticed the strong easterly winds and called Reef Riders to inquire about sea conditions. I was told that we would be on the west side of the island and it would be fine. When we arrived at Reef Riders it turned out to be some lawn chairs in an open lot. I asked to use a restroom and the owner had to take me by car to a public restroom. We were then given ill fitting low quality life jackets (the kind that ride up under your chin if you get in the water) One of the boats in our group would not run and the guide had me drive his boat with my wife and him as passengers. We hugged the beach going out and the ride was okay. When we passed the point to go to the reef there was no protection from the wind and things got miserable. Conditions at the reef were terrible. I was trying to assist my wife in the severe chop but it was too much for her and I did not get to do anything myself. The others in the group got to snorkel but quit after 15 minutes because "it was too rough and no fun" Our guide was a great guy and did his best under the conditions. The owners should have told people that is was going to be very rough and give the choice of whether to go our not and if not refund their money. They also need to invest in a facility and equipment.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Peter Thank you for your review. I have to hold my hands up. That day didn't go well. I specifically remember your phone call in the morning and the answer I gave you was based on all of the information I had at the time and my detailed local knowlege of the winds and currents in the area. The weather, although not great that morning was well within our normal operating parameters. We had an engine overheating problem that did not manifest itself during the pre-tour start up checklist. Despite making an attempt to clear the tell-tale the engine continued to overheat so we found ourselves 1 boat short. (As I write this problem is still not resolved after replacing water pump impellor, thermostat and getting a strong tell-tale!) As Tiggr's boat has 2 passenger seats we offered you the chance to ride with him. Tiggr is usually quite charming and any guest that rides with him is usually very pleased that they had their own personal tour guide riding with them, however Tiggr's boat is much lighter than a regular Reef Rider and is therefore affected more by adverse "bouncy" conditions. With regard to our equipment, we issue everybody with a type 3 personal floatation device and during our detailed safety briefing explain that the straps need to be tight if you enter the water using one. The alternative is those horrible snorkel vests with straps that go between your legs but they are not hygenic in a rental environment. We can also offer snorkel belts if anybody requests them but find that these can force peoples heads into the water, so we don't routinely issue them. I agree that our facilities here in Antigua are not what we would wish for. We have been waiting years for our landlord to build his promised facilities. I would love nothing more than to be able to greet you in an air-conditioned store and sell t-shirts and sunscreen etc but our location here in the marina is perfect for our tour and the view of the marina from under our tent is beautiful. The tent is there to provide shade during our safety briefing and a little shelter if it rains. The lack of our own toilets or at least ones within the average cruise ship passengers walking distance is a constant bind but we are always happy to shuttle people down to the rest rooms, usually on our speedy little golf cart. On this particular day we shuttled you 250 yards to the restroom in our new Audi Q7 SUV that we purchased specifically to shuttle groups of 6 through the marina grounds. As a fellow boater I respect your opinion on the weather. You more than most therefore know that the weather can change rapidly. That's why we operate on the leeward west coast of the islands and never too far offshore. On a calmer day I am sure you and your wife would have had a great time. During cruise ship season then at least 40% of our guests are seniors and of varied physical ability and we endevour to make sure they all have a great time. If you are planning on coming back to Antigua then please do come back and visit us again and Tiggr will take you out free of charge as his personal guest, this time on your own boat. In the meantime I will reach out to Viator and ask them to refund 50% of the cost of the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do