Recent Searches
Clear

Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour

|
Five Islands Village, Caribbean
Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Bottled water
Price is based on 2 people sharing 1 boat.
Gratuties

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
9/7/2021 - 12/30/2022
Monday - Sunday:09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
We can pick up from any hotel in Antigua. We will notify you of the pick up time once booking is confirmed.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Antigua Reef Riders
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Antigua Reef Riders Self-Drive Boat and Snorkeling Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
53 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-4 of 53 reviews
star-2
Antigua Excursion
Ralph_D
, Apr 2022
Driving along the coast was fun to see the other resorts from the water. The value was probably ok for the cost and a small business owner's attempt at creating customer satisfaction. The reef snorkeling was not worth the ride. The weather was not and has not been conducive to other than the younger generation. The boats were aging. We had a good time but it was ROUGH riding not REEF riding. Tigger did a good job in a windy day. Too rough to scorkel.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Ralph Thank you for your feedback. As you say, the weather this March has been strange here in Antigua. It’s been unseasonably windy and the seas uncharacteristically choppy, although only on 3 occasions this month have we had to postpone tours due to bad weather. Our ribs are specially designed to get our guests safely out to Cades Reef, one of the best places to snorkel in Antigua. Sometimes the weather means that guests have to compromise a little on comfort, but we never compromise on safety. The tour is called the Reef Rider Snorkeling Adventure, as as we say, some days have more adventure than others. Unfortunately, I can’t control weather. If I could, then I’d control the world, not just a small family business trying to get through the lasting economic effects of covid on an island wholly dependent upon tourism. We have taken over 20,000 guests out to the reef in small personal groups over the last 7 years and I have met and conversed with 99% of them. We take people of all ages and abilities from 5 to 95, and whilst I wouldn’t have recommended our tour on that particular day to a frail 95 year old (in some of the best sea conditions that we’ve had for weeks!) I wouldn’t have thought that a sprightly 70 year old, who only recently stopped playing baseball and regularly hunts deer on his 200 acre farm would have found our conditions too rough. If at any time before the tour you had expressed any concerns about the conditions then we would have waived the 24 hours notice and cancelled your tour and at the end of the tour, had you expressed any dis-satisfaction to me on our trip back to your resort, then we could have discussed it face to face. I am usually a great judge of whether people will enjoy our tour before the tour, and my motto is that “I never force people to go out and have fun”. It appears that your experience of Antigua as a whole has been tainted by the weather that in your words “was not and has not been conducive to other than the younger generation”. If you come back to Antigua, and the sea is flat and the wind is calm (tip - Usually May - September) then give us a call, and I’ll personally take you out as my guest, and you can update me on the progress of your new lake.
star-5
Lots of fun
Heilie_S
, Mar 2022
Everyone was really nice and the tour guide was helpful and made sure we were safe throughout the whole tour was really fun driving the boat and being able to see the marine life would definitely recommend trying this tour
star-5
Great snorkeling tour!
Michael_M
, Jul 2020
We had such an amazing experience! Our tour guide Tigger was very knowledgeable of the reef and all the fish we saw that day. They were extremely proactive with COVID-19 regulations. Plus it was a lot of fun driving our own boat! Highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to go snorkeling.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Thank you for your kind review. It’s great to be back out on the water again! I know Tiggr enjoyed your tour. We’re glad you appreciated our new COVID-19 protocols which mean you wear a mask on land but once in the water you don’t need one on our perfect social-distancing friendly tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Disappointed
Peter S
, Nov 2019
I am a lifelong boater, fisherman and snorkeler but my wife is a novice and we are both seniors. Upon arriving in Antigua, I noticed the strong easterly winds and called Reef Riders to inquire about sea conditions. I was told that we would be on the west side of the island and it would be fine. When we arrived at Reef Riders it turned out to be some lawn chairs in an open lot. I asked to use a restroom and the owner had to take me by car to a public restroom. We were then given ill fitting low quality life jackets (the kind that ride up under your chin if you get in the water) One of the boats in our group would not run and the guide had me drive his boat with my wife and him as passengers. We hugged the beach going out and the ride was okay. When we passed the point to go to the reef there was no protection from the wind and things got miserable. Conditions at the reef were terrible. I was trying to assist my wife in the severe chop but it was too much for her and I did not get to do anything myself. The others in the group got to snorkel but quit after 15 minutes because "it was too rough and no fun" Our guide was a great guy and did his best under the conditions. The owners should have told people that is was going to be very rough and give the choice of whether to go our not and if not refund their money. They also need to invest in a facility and equipment.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Peter Thank you for your review. I have to hold my hands up. That day didn't go well. I specifically remember your phone call in the morning and the answer I gave you was based on all of the information I had at the time and my detailed local knowlege of the winds and currents in the area. The weather, although not great that morning was well within our normal operating parameters. We had an engine overheating problem that did not manifest itself during the pre-tour start up checklist. Despite making an attempt to clear the tell-tale the engine continued to overheat so we found ourselves 1 boat short. (As I write this problem is still not resolved after replacing water pump impellor, thermostat and getting a strong tell-tale!) As Tiggr's boat has 2 passenger seats we offered you the chance to ride with him. Tiggr is usually quite charming and any guest that rides with him is usually very pleased that they had their own personal tour guide riding with them, however Tiggr's boat is much lighter than a regular Reef Rider and is therefore affected more by adverse "bouncy" conditions. With regard to our equipment, we issue everybody with a type 3 personal floatation device and during our detailed safety briefing explain that the straps need to be tight if you enter the water using one. The alternative is those horrible snorkel vests with straps that go between your legs but they are not hygenic in a rental environment. We can also offer snorkel belts if anybody requests them but find that these can force peoples heads into the water, so we don't routinely issue them. I agree that our facilities here in Antigua are not what we would wish for. We have been waiting years for our landlord to build his promised facilities. I would love nothing more than to be able to greet you in an air-conditioned store and sell t-shirts and sunscreen etc but our location here in the marina is perfect for our tour and the view of the marina from under our tent is beautiful. The tent is there to provide shade during our safety briefing and a little shelter if it rains. The lack of our own toilets or at least ones within the average cruise ship passengers walking distance is a constant bind but we are always happy to shuttle people down to the rest rooms, usually on our speedy little golf cart. On this particular day we shuttled you 250 yards to the restroom in our new Audi Q7 SUV that we purchased specifically to shuttle groups of 6 through the marina grounds. As a fellow boater I respect your opinion on the weather. You more than most therefore know that the weather can change rapidly. That's why we operate on the leeward west coast of the islands and never too far offshore. On a calmer day I am sure you and your wife would have had a great time. During cruise ship season then at least 40% of our guests are seniors and of varied physical ability and we endevour to make sure they all have a great time. If you are planning on coming back to Antigua then please do come back and visit us again and Tiggr will take you out free of charge as his personal guest, this time on your own boat. In the meantime I will reach out to Viator and ask them to refund 50% of the cost of the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations