Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Fairbanks, United States
Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Photography Service
Pick you up at a Hotel in Fairbanks downtown
Gratuities

Departure Point

537 Johansen Expy, Fairbanks, AK 99701, USA

We will pick you up at Hotels listed on Viator and TripAdvisor. If you do not stay in Fairbanks Downtown, we may meet you at 537 Johansen Expy, Fairbanks, AK 99701 (Walmart Parking Lot) or we will let you know where we may meet you. (Pick up /Drop off time and Location are subject to change.)

Departure Time

10:30 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Alaska Journey Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
129 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 129 reviews
star-4
Bucket List check off
Mark_T
, Dec 2021
We were blessed with seeing the Northern Lights and the only reason I booked this tour was for the photography service. I loved our pictures but because there was such a large group (2 vans worth) we felt very rushed during the photography experience. The tour needs to limit the number of couples/people at a time. Two (2) vans was very unexpected and much to large of a group.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi, Thank you for the Good review on Viator. We don't have a van, but Large SUVs. It was not a private tour as posted. We had 12 clients only when you booked. As we posted, this tour is Max. 14 people. Our Large SUVs are for 8 passengers. As we explained, one aurora chaser and one photographer are a team. We never had any issues on number of clients. We are so proud of having him as a photographer. We are glad that you have beautiful photos under the Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis). Have a blessed day! Leah Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
Excellent experience
Jonathan_R
, Nov 2021
Loved the tour. David was great. It was a very memorable experience. 100% recommended. Even though the activity was low, we got to take some amazing pictures.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi, Thank you for the Amazing Review on Viator. Yes, it was low activity, but we chased the Northern Lights, which gave a better opportunity to see the light. We are grateful that you have amazing photos. We are so blessed that you gave a wonderful review on Viator. Have a blessed day. Blessings, Leah Alaska Journey Tours
star-2
We did not see the northern lights 😩
Madel_L
, Nov 2021
The purpose of the trip is to see the northern lights . It did not happen . We’re hoping to see it tonight without fees .
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We are truly sorry that it happened. Before we started to chase the lights, it was Mostly Clear. When it started, the weather forecast said that it would be partly cloudy in 1 hour. But, the weather totally changed. We came by 5 spots to find clear skies. But, the weather forecast continued to change and change. We sent the following messages before starting the tour: .... However, the weather always changes. Northern Lights can be viewed under the clouds and Kp index 2 (Low Activity). On the other hand, the lights did not show up even though everything was perfect. It happened that the Lights did not come out under good conditions. We try to explore and do our best to chase the lights and to find clear skies. We posted the followings on TripAdvisor, Viator & Expedia as you knew when you booked: "We can’t promise to let you see the Northern Lights, which is Mother Nature that we cannot control. We would not cancel due to lack of lights or cloudy skies. The weather always changes and other conditions may change. - from TripAdvisor & Viator" .... Have a blessed trip. Leah Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
A Breathtaking Experience!!
Carinel_G
, Nov 2021
Seeing the Aurora Borealis was one the greatest experiences ever. We were a bit skeptical at first because it was a very foggy night and we had already tried in two other nights to see them but weren't so lucky. After we got picked up we went to the first spot and we got to see the lights. Joseph was quick taking pictures, he was very accommodating and happy to take as many pictures as we wanted. We recommend them 100%
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi, Thank you for the GREAT Review on Viator. Yes, it was fog when we started to chase the Northern Lights. But, God opened the sky and allowed us to see the Beautiful Aurora Borealis. It is Mother Nature that we CANNOT control. The more we got this Aurora Chasing Tour, the better we realize what the Mother Nature is. It was totally God's blessing. We are thankful for the ABOVE AMAZING REVIEW. Have a blessed day! Sarah Alaska Journey Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Too cloudy to see.
Mary_M
, Nov 2021
I believe that the tour guide for this tour has or should have the experience to know if the weather report is conducive to seeing the Aurora Borealis. The night that we went was cloudy. But we spent 3 hours driving from spot to spot and not being able to see anything due to the cloud cover. I think the guide should have known we wouldn't be able to see anything and cancelled the tour due to weather. So it cost us $450 for a 3 hour ride from 10:30 pm to 1:30 pm to not see anything.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi, We are truly sorry that it happened. When it started, the weather forecast said that it was partly cloudy or partly clear, not cloudy. We mentioned that the weather always changes. Kp index sometimes changes. Northern Lights can be viewed under the clouds and Kp index 2 (Low Activity). It was cloudy, but we saw the beautiful Northern Lights. On the other hand, the lights did not show up even though everything was perfect. It happened that the Lights did not come out under good conditions. We try to explore and do our best to chase the lights and to find clear skies. We posted the followings on TripAdvisor, Viator & Expedia as you knew when you booked: "We can’t promise to let you see the Northern Lights, which is Mother Nature that we cannot control. We would not cancel due to lack of lights or cloudy skies. The weather always changes and other conditions may change. - from TripAdvisor & Viator" Blessings, Leah Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
Unforgetable majestic experience!!
Ind_f
, Oct 2021
Dispite the freezing cold, the very rare majestic Aurora lights of God's creation that I experienced, is aaaaalll worth it!!! Many thanks to our tour guides whom so knowledgeable of the situation and very helpful to capture those beautiful lights.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi Thank you for the GREAT Review on Viator. It was mostly cloudy last 2 days. You were so blessed that Mother Nature opened the sky last night. It was amazing that the Northern Lights was dancing and dancing for about 1 hour. We believe that last night made you have AN UNFORGETTABLE MAJESTIC EXPERIENCE as you mentioned. Have a GREAT trip in Alaska. Abigail Alaska Journey Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
When the lights were...
SYLVIA_R
, Sep 2021
When the lights were "dancing" across the sky. It was ever changing. I wish everyone could see them in person
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi, Thank you for the GREAT Review on Viator. It was blessing that you might see the lights dancing in the sky. Mother Nature wanted you guys to see the amazing ones. Have a blessed day. Abigail Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
Great tour
Irene_R
, Sep 2021
Fantastic!! The driver was friendly. Dave the photographer was wonderful. They were so focused on making sure everyone was having fun. We were blessed to see the lights!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for the GREAT Review on Viator. We are grateful that you had a fun under the Northern Lights dancing in the sky. Have a blessed trip. Abigail Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
One team one dream!
Ana_K
, Sep 2021
The team is amazing! Leah and Joseph are a great pair, very educated in where to find the aurora and Joseph directs you were to stand. You will NOT be disappointed if you take on this tour!! They are far better at finding it and taking amazing photos than if you were to chase it alone
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi, Thank you for the GREAT review and Amazing comments on our staff. We will let Joe and Leah know about your review on Viator. God may bless you and your friend! Abigail 907-987-0229 Alaska Journey Tours
star-5
knowledgeable and experienced, plus fantastic photography!
John_T
, Sep 2021
Joe was our tour guide and did a wonderful job of finding the Northern Lights quickly that night and we were able to see them for about two hours. It was an amazing experience to see the lights for the first time. And his expertise in photographing has left us with fabulous memories!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for the GREAT review on Viator.com. We were grateful that God allowed us to see the stunning ones in the sky. We all were blessed. Have a blessed Journey! Leah Alaska Journey Tours 1-907-987-0229
2 travelers found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service
Northern Lights (Aurora Borealis) Chasing with Photography and Pick up Service

star-5129

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$189.00

star-552

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-4.515

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-4.5300

3 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$225.00

star-573

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$249.00

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$189.00

star-4.566

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-4.5288

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$175.00

Explore Similar Things to Do