Recent Searches
Clear

Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

|
Cartagena, Colombia
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Totumo Mud Volcano is a one-of-a-kind attraction home to mineral-infused mud that’s reputed to have healing properties. Avoid the hassle of public transport and the expense of taxis on a stress-free trip to the the volcano, which include snacks and convenient hotel pickup and drop-off. You’ll have ample time to soak in the mud bath and, unlike conventional tours from Cartagena, this excursion includes a stop at Manzanillo Beach.
  • Save time and travel to Totumo Mud Volcano with ease
  • Avoid finding a meeting point with convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Spend ample time soaking in the mineral-infused mud
  • Make a bonus stop at Manzanillo Beach
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Snacks
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Centro Historico (Amurallado) , Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001 Colombia
We pick up all travelers at the hotel, so we need mandatory the location of your hotel for the pick up, please give detail information.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Swimsuit required inside the volcano
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BackpackersCtg
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Its a great half day experience but try to get there early." See review
  • "Short and sweet The volcano mud is remarkably rich and feels great The wash down afterwards is definitely a part of the experience as they literally bathe you Food is more of a snack but it is tasty" See review
  • "Once you get to the volcano you’ll be a little weary with how tall it is but after the climb you see the mud and be a little hesitant but just jump in and you won’t regret it." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
147 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 147 reviews
star-5
Good Experience
Paris_W
, Aug 2022
The experience was amazing, the drive was an hour and a half from cartenga. Hector was giving us history on the long ride which was great. We got there around 10 am and it was not crowded. Once in the mud you were giving a massage which was amazing. Tips of 5 pesos were wales for the person who takes pictures, massages and washes. Everyone was helpful. After the mud bath we was washed and then had a snack a empanada with a beverage. We did not stop by a beach but we giving history about colombia on the way back home. My friend did have an issue with payment with Viator, they provided her with a ticket and the money was taking out of her bank and they canceled the payment. When she contacted them they were no help.
star-5
Unique
Joaquin_B
, Jul 2022
Alex was very informative. He made sure everyone was okay and all our needs were met. As for the tour, it was a great experience.
star-2
Poor experience due to beggars
marissa_r
, Jul 2022
The only part that was good was being in the actual volcano. That was only about 20 minutes though. Once we got back to the van, we were ambushed. Ten different people surrrounded us asking for money. They said we were supposed to pay for massage, photos, and bath before hand for 15.000 total. I ended up paying 52.000. They acted like vultures. A guy charged us just because he watched our shows even though we didn’t ask him to. Multiple people came asking for tips that didn’t even service us. The tour guide was no help. They didn’t try to help us or communicate with the people. We couldn’t get any privacy to count our money or to get ourselves together. They weee touching us. It was so uncomfortable and caused us a lot of anxiety. I would not go again. Then we’re went to some hotel for like 3 hours with a dirty beach. Overall not good at all.
star-5
Loved it
GIROLAMA_G
, Jul 2022
The tour was awesome! From beginning to end. People were very respectful and helpful especially when cleaning off the Mud!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun day
Jennifer_D
, Jul 2022
Fun experience. Tour company was easy to work with. Bring small bill for tips - anyone that does anything for you expects a tip.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A MUST DO
KeVonte_C
, Jul 2022
This is a must-do! Jose and Jesus were very hospitable and professional. The small lunch you get is so worth it. I even ate 3 more empanadas. They have a dedicated picture guy who takes pictures from your phone. The transport to/from there was easy breezy. Highly recommend/
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Recommend Any Day
Lornette_M
, Jun 2022
Great experience. Mud and the washing in the lagoon felt nice. The massage in the mud was great. You can definitely relax when there aren't so many people. Con: There was so many people and it was not organized on how and when to get in or out. Photographer took pics but due to having numerous phones, you don't get many pics and you don't get your phone back right away. I would definitely recommend it.
star-4
Very cool
Luz_R
, Jun 2022
Definitely a unique experience! My skin was glowing afterwards. Our tour guides Frankie and Jesus were very nice and made sure to explain everything ahead of time. Frankie also gave us some facts about the land and the trees on the way to the volcano. I also like how they explained that the people there are looking for tips but reminded us it was not obligated (but you should still tip something). They also set up a system where we put whatever amount we wanted in a hat at the end of our experience so the people could divide the tips amongst themselves. I thought this was great because it made the experience more enjoyable in the sense that it didn’t feel like a “money haul” as others described in comments.
star-1
Cancelled
Faith_A
, Jun 2022
They canceled 30min before scheduled pick up time . Although they offered a refund , it was a huge inconvenience . Advance notice would have been great
star-3
Remember to keep your camera person with you
Damarron_J
, May 2022
The experience was wonderful but slightly rush because of their tardiness. Remember to keep your camera person with you for the whole experience from beginning to the end because you'll need them for the latter part (wash up portion) with the Old Lady Gang and don't be bashful.
star-5
Our tour guide Jose and...
Charmaine_D
, May 2022
Our tour guide Jose and driver Jesus were amazing. The experience was once in a lifetime. The massage was relaxing and the lake wash was fun. Highly recommend to anyone.
star-4
It’s a weird and...
Barbara_C
, May 2022
It’s a weird and different feeling once the massager let’s you go, you will know what I mean. Must do
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Waste of a time and money grab
Juan_S
, May 2022
Swimming in mud, laying in mud, in a desolate village that’s run down. No working toilets or any of that. Def not something I’d do again. And you pay for the tour then pay everyone there from the kid who talks to you to the person who just pours water on you. It’s a money grab. Save ya money and go to a spa.
star-5
Awesome experience!
Marlana
, Apr 2022
Tour guide Alex was awesome. There were a lot of people there and a lot of people in the mud volcano at the same time. Not great for pictures as you'll have a bunch of other people in with you. Amazing experience none the less.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Marlana for us is very important to know we are doing a good job.
star-3
Buyer beware
candi
, Apr 2022
It was memorable. We tan late because some people didn’t show. Then we had to rush back because someone had scheduled a Covid test. So, I don’t feel as though I had much time to experience anything. It was poorly organized. Also, the tips for all the photographers, washer women, etc was very confusing and poorly executed. Come with small bills!! It was interesting.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Candi Thanks for letting us know in which things we need to work in and get better, always we are looking for the best so we hope we can have a second chance if you come back.
star-5
Highly recommend
Matthew_L
, Mar 2022
Great time - Jesus the guide speaks amazingly good English, very helpful, very clear, very nice once in a lifetime experience.
star-5
Excellent experience.
Olivia_K
, Mar 2022
Excellent experience! Thoughtful guide, really well planned, highly recommended. And the mud volcano was so incredibly cool! Such a unique experience.
star-5
DO IT!
Rontreisha_J
, Mar 2022
This experience was unforgettable. From the guide (Alex) to the men who helped you up the stairs (Miguel), the guys massaging you in the mud and the ladies who THOROUGHLY clean you in the water afterwards. I’d never done something like this before but I’d definitely do it again. I felt so refreshed afterwards and the designated picture person took GREAT shots
star-5
Great half day trip
Steven_M
, Mar 2022
Our guides Jesus and Luis were the best. Very helpful. They explained our trip at the start and made sure we were never alone. Jesus shared many interesting facts and the massages in the volcano, ladies try at helped us wash off the mud and the great restaurant made for an amazing day. Highly recommend.
star-3
Muddy crew
Fatima_C
, Mar 2022
The mud had warm spots once you entered. My family and I enjoyed ourselves. This was our first time experiencing this mud adventure. I highly recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Fatima thanks for your comment we really appreciate it.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena
Likely to Sell Out
Half-Day Tour to Totumo Mud Volcano from Cartagena

star-4147

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-42

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.00

star-525

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-4.562

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-4.5292

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.00

star-57

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-57

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-4.512

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$115.00

star-4121

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$36.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations