Recent Searches
Clear

Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.

|
Cartagena de Indias, Colombia
Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience the idyllic splendor of Playa Blanca and Barú with a full-day package that combines round-trip transport from Cartagena and lunch. After a short drive from Cartagena, arrive on the pristine sands of Playa Blanca and recline in a hammock or sun lounger at a local hotel. Refresh with a dip in the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and then revitalize with lunch and a soft drink around midday. Your day will conclude with drop-off back in Cartagena.
  • Round-trip transport to Playa Blanca and lunch from Cartagena
  • Relax on the hammocks or sun loungers on a beach side hotel
  • Take a dip in the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean Sea
  • Enjoy a delicious lunch and choose between fish, meat or vegetarian options
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch
Local guide
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Local taxes
Sun Chair
Alcoholics Drinks
Towels
Hotel pick up and drop-off
Massage
LOS PEGASOS , Cl. 24, Cartagena de Indias, Provincia de Cartagena, Bolívar, Colombia

Los pegasos is a statue of two horses located in front of the clock towel across the AV, is important to keep in touch with us and the best way is whatsup. please be patient a member of the team will be with you. we have 2 departures at 6:30 to 2:00 pm and 9:30 am to 5:30 am

6:00 AM

Times are subject to change due to local traffic conditions.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Availability for shows cannot be checked without making a booking. Credit cards will only be charged upon confirmation of show availability
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • The place where you will spend the day is an Eco-Hostel, for that reason the installations and the bathrooms are rustics
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BackpackersCtg
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch..
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch..
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch..
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch..

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The beach is a coral beach so I highly suggest bring water shoes ." See review
  • "The beach however is filled with vendors, so be prepared to be offered something pretty much every minute!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
288 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 288 reviews
star-1
Don’t believe the hype!
Ife_R
, Aug 2022
Starting from a 40 minute delay pick up, to no fresh water to wash hands, 25,000 pesos that covers a hot dog lunch, constant harassment from peddlers, lockers with no locks, paying 60,000 pesos extra for a bed behind the fence thinking it would provide privacy but not having a moments peace, this trip was a disappointment. There was absolutely no tour info given along the way. The waters of Playa Blanca were beautiful but this is no place to relax and enjoy the natural beauty. Skip it!
star-2
Long trip. Not worthwhile
Rafael_M
, Jul 2022
Paid a fortune to reschedule due to an incident in the day of the tour. This was no island since the whole trip was by land. The beach and water were beautiful but crowded and vendors harrasing you every 3 minutes. Not worth the long trip there.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Rafael Thanks for your information we are always trying to get better maybe at the description you didn't notice that the transfer is on a van or bus we really sorry we also have options by boats for other places at the island i invite you to visit one of those.
star-2
Javier Castro
Castros2008
, Jul 2022
Too expensive for what we get. Food was not good. The toughest meat ever.. to many flies to enjoy eating my fish.. drinks watery… never again Javier Castro
star-1
Think twice and Reconsider!!!
Chanelle00
, Jul 2022
Not sure what happened here because based off the pictures and reviews this was going to be a much more upscale excursion: 1.) Bus: the bus was so dilapidated a piece of metal was sticking out from my seat so I had to use my hand as a shield to avoid being injured, it was so cramped your knees were in the other passengers back, the a/c wasn’t working, no music; 2.) Drive to beach: we must have drove through a shantytown; 3.) Walk to beach: walking through a very poor part of the beach, everything was in a hut like structure; 4.) Bathrooms: toilets did not flush, shower was salt water vs fresh water; 5.) THE WORST PART: Constant harassment from vendors; at one point I had to pay the massage lady to go away, and they DO NOT understand the concept of personal boundaries very un-consensual touching! It’s hard for me to write this review because the tour guide and staff at hut were pleasant but this excursion was just all around very uncomfortable. The only highlight of my day was the camaraderie built based off this terrible experience (we all felt bamboozled) and the lunch were I tried a delicious dish called mojarra.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Lovely Beach, Unpleasant Ride
Chaundra_G
, Jul 2022
The bus seats were wet and we arrived at the meetup on time which seemed to be too early (6AM). We waited for an hour before beginning our route to pick up other passengers around town. We did not know that was an option, otherwise we would have slept in and gotten picked up too. By 8:15 or so we headed to the beach. All the while in a mildewy moist seats. The beach itself is beautiful amd Mambo Beach Club was enjoyable especially our server Andres.
star-5
José Saved the Day! Hooray!!
Justin_W
, Jun 2022
Jose our tour guide was amazing! He made the tour comfortable and easy. Give him a raise. The beach was fun. The food was great. My only two pieces of feedback are: 1. Make departure time later than 6:45am. I didn’t get to enjoy breakfast at my hotel before having to leave to walk to the meeting point. 2. If 6:45am is going to remain the departure time maybe consider pushing lunch up from 12pm. I got hungry and angry waiting for food and just went to a different place on the beach to grab something to eat while waiting for food service so I wasn’t hungry when they FINALLY served food. The tour ends at 2pm. Serving lunch at 12 pm is just a bit late.
star-4
Mamba Beach Club
Michelle_K
, Jun 2022
Playa Blanco on Isla Barú was beautiful. The hostess at Mamba Beach club, Maria, was amazing she was so sweet. They only downside was all the vendors that are allowed to go in and out which caused a bit of irritation while relaxing. They also took away from Maria’s tips. Vendors should only be allowed every 2 hours to allow visitors to relax more. Other than that it was a great experience and I will be back! Viva Cartagena❣️
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
TravelFriends
Yolanda_S
, May 2022
We all have an enjoyable day trip to Baru and Playa Blanca. Only setback beach Vendors hustle the whole time and you can't keep them out of the area. Mambo Beach/Maria was excellent Hostess/Waitress
star-4
The Beach is Everything. Worth the Drive
Leonie_M
, May 2022
I love nature, so driving out of the city of Cartagena to the beach was welcoming. We were given fruits as snack for the 70 minute ride. It went by fast since I wass very curious. We arrive at the parking lot where there were many natives selling different items. We trekked down a little grade to the beautiful blue ocean and white sand (nothing compared to the brown beaches in Bocagrande). Franklin, the tour guide was wonderful, he understood what hospitality means. He guided us in the right direction regarding the natives who sell their wares. The only complaint I have is there were flies but they kept spraying upin request. You literally get chairs as advertised. Not beach chairs or lounge chairs. However, you can purchase a cabana for less than $20 is which fits two. I suppose your whole crew could use.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Too much people begging...
Naomi_B
, Apr 2022
Too much people begging and the staff allowed them to annoy the patrons even after numerous no’s. Couldn’t really relax and enjoy myself. And too much rocks in the beach.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Naomi we really sorry about your experience we care about you and local people of the island sells things is their first economic activity for this days is high season and it become more difficult to control it in a public beach, we hope you can give us a second chance.
star-5
If you like water activities!
Bethsabet_V
, Apr 2022
A must do. We had a great time. The area that was exclusive to our group was more private than other areas which prevents from being hassled by vendors and massage therapist. You will still see some of them around because they have to earn a living but it could be a bit overwhelming. The water was rocky in the area so bring water shoes. But if you like water activities such as jet ski, banana boats and private tours to other island in the area this is the place to be. Clear blue waters. Beautiful. Just make sure to take Colombian pesos to tip. The tour guide and the service was great. Not for our elders. Hard to get into beach area, very rocky and have to go downhill to get in and uphill to come out of the beach area.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Beth thanks for your review for us is very important, the beach is rocky for this month every year we work every day to try to keep it clean for you.
star-1
The worst trip ever.
Danuta_S
, Jan 2022
Instead of 6am it started at 10:30am. Guid forgot to speak in english so we need to ask for translation . Beach beds were not ready- we need to wait 1 hour. Lockers for bags not awailable. On the way back bus driver stoped sudenly in the middle of nowhere and said he wasn’t paied so he is not going to work anylonger. Higly NOT RECOMMENDED!!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
sorry....I am not a negative person at all but this tour is a total rip off.
Nicholas_S
, Dec 2021
If you like being told to be at a meeting point at 6AM and waiting 1.5 hours for the guide to show up, being packed like a sardine into a tiny minibus with no airconditioning --driven by a chaufer who recklessly almost runs over a guy on a motorcycle--, arriving at a beach littered with massive amounts of trash and garbage, listening to blasted reggatón music, being pestered constantly --literally every five minutes-- by insistent hawkers who want to sell you trinkets, massages, hairbraiding, shells, jewelry, and drugs, and eating greasy undercooked fish for lunch, this tour is perfect for YOU!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Birthday
Tiffany_J
, Nov 2021
The tour guide and Manager was so nice and accommodating. We celebrated our birthday together. The staff was also willing to help with anything. Use translator a lot. Beach was wonderful just a lot of sellers.
star-4
Beach was beautiful , vendors aggressive
Marie_G
, Sep 2021
The service was really nice , they picked up us from hotel and The ride was nice. Beach was beautiful and we got there early so the locals did not arrive yet. One reason I took one star , you will be aggressively pressured into buying stuff and services from vendors always coming into the private canbana and they should do more a job to not let them just walk in and wait on the beach
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks a lot for the review we are always looking the way to keep you safe and guarantee the experience we are worry about the different ways you can feel uncomfortable and believe me we do everything possible to get it and solve it.
star-5
Can't be beat Value
Mohammad_N
, Sep 2021
This was probably my best experience during my 5 days in Cartagena. I booked this experience for a Sunday and was kinda spectacle of the 630am pick up time, but glad it was early in the morning because you're basically the first ones on the beach and really get to take it all in before it starts to really get packed. We arrived around 8:30ish, I wasn't picked up until around 7am and we were there until around 3pm. We had around 10 people in our group. The weather was amazing and so was the food, I picked the Chicken option. The welcome drink and fruit was very delicious. Jose our host was great and spoke english which helped me a lot. In regards to beach vendors, I didn't really experience that many since we had a boarder around us and were a little bit further from the beach (cabannas in front of us), but was expecting them to be a lot worse from reading prior reviews, I actually even bought some jewelry from one vender (negotiate lol) . Also in regards to rocks in the water, small areas did have patches of rocks but you could see them since the water is so clear, no need to worry. Enjoy the water as much as possible early on because later on it does get crowded (around 12pm) with a lot of boats and jet skis which were annoying. Also under the "What to Expect" section it say snorkeling equipment but that was not provided, would have been really nice to have that though. I went solo and enjoyed every minute of it, I made friends in my group which also made the experience much more awesome! Overall great value, can't be beat, highly recommend!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Nice beach trip to Playa Blanca
Frank_S
, Aug 2021
Well organised trip, good communication, early departure meant we were able to enjoy the best of the day at Playa Blanca. The guide and personnel at the beach were very friendly, gave good advice, we had a very good day trip. Negative points, outside the control of the tour organisers: annoying beach vendors, don’t take anything of value onto the beach, leave it in the lockers provided. Also there are underwater rocks on the beach, be careful!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We appreciate your comment and that you had fun on the tour, we will take into account your recommendations to improve, thanks for understanding. We hope to see you soon to assist you.
star-5
Fun in the sun
Jerome_M
, Jul 2021
Beach is beautiful and our guide Melondy can’t be beat! She took excellent care of us! I definitely recommend it and spend th 60 pesos or the cabana!!!!!!!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for choosing Backpackers to be your hosts, we appreciate your recommendation and your excellent rating, we hope you return to have the pleasure of serving you. Thanks a lot!
star-4
Nice trip for the price
Rebecca_S
, Jun 2021
Jose was a wonderful guide. The place on the beach was nice and I received a fruit dish to begin and a drink. The sun chairs were nice and their was a shaded area when it got hotter. I traveled by myself and felt completely safe. The restrooms were clean.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We appreciate your comment and that you had fun on the tour, we hope to see you soon to assist you.
star-1
Terrible- horrible
Martha_F
, Jun 2021
This tour was a disgrace and should not be sold. Viator should be embarrassed to off this as a tour. The location was filthy and disgusting and did not resemble anything similar to what was advertised. Totally false advertising.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We apologize for all the inconveniences presented :(, these recommendations help us to improve and be better every day. We hope to make up for this bad experience in the next time. Greetings!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.
Likely to Sell Out
Baru and Playa Blanca Enjoy the best place with accommodation and lunch.

star-4288

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.5151

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00

star-421

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.00

star-3.59

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.514

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-4510

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$155.00

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-00

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$22.00

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.87
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations