Recent Searches
Clear

We’re committed to helping you feel confident as you get back out there. Check out our flexible cancellation policies and learn what steps operators are taking to keep you safe. As conditions evolve, check local regulations for the latest information.

Read More

Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout

star-4.5
|
Banff, Canada

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Saddle up for a ride along the Bow River in Banff and a Western style cookout. Choose from riding on horseback or in a covered wagon through the beautiful Rocky Mountain terrain. At the dining site, spend some time perfecting your roping skills or relaxing with a game of horseshoes before “tucking in”--that’s cowboy speak for “eating”—a yummy BBQ meal.
  • Choose from morning rides and lunch or afternoon/supper options
  • If you are traveling with family, the covered wagon is fun for all ages
  • Cook-out meal includes steak, salad, baked beans, potatoes, and dessert
  • Horseback riders need to be over 8 years old and under 250 lbs (113 kg)
The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 56 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Covered Wagon or Horseback Ride in Banff with Western Cookout.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Don’t miss this one especially if you are looking for a relaxing way to end your day." See review
  • "If you like horses and being out in unspoiled nature, don't miss it." See review
  • "They said they needed to match the horses with height and riding ability, which is fine but we have the same height and riding ability so I dunno, It seemed a bit pedantic."

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
59 Reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Reviews by Viator travelers
star-5
Great family outing!
Bart S
, Sep 2019
Covered wagon with cook out was excellent! Our entires Our Our family enjoyed the adventure! 18 months to 60 years of age. Our wrangler was fantastic who answered many questions from our grandchildren and family.
star-5
amazing experience
sparkey22
, Sep 2019
we were a family with adult children. My husband and I went on the wagon ride as I have mobility issues. It was very comfitable withfairly easy steps up. Our two sons, 34 and 22, did the horse riding. They were complete beginners. Tuition was given first and they soon felt confident and coped really well. We all met up together at the cookout. Excellent meal was provided - steak, beans , baked potato, salad and fixings. Lots of entertaining information was given in the wagon ride.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, Im glad your family enjoyed the ride and wagon.
star-4
Pretty nice tour- a bit difficult to book
Roisin M
, Sep 2019
I wish I had booked this directly on the website instead of through TripAdvisor- we weren’t able to choose the number of horse riders v wagon riders- then it was a big hassle to try and change it. We weren't able to choose directly with the company- but had to spend ages on the phone with viator to cancel the original booking and change the new one. It ended up being on an hour earlier than the time on the original booking and you’re supposed to be there a half hour before that. Managed it in the end! We had a two year old with us and hoped I could bring him on the way there and then swap with his dad to horse ride the way back- but the tour wouldn’t allow it which was disappointing. They said they needed to match the horses with height and riding ability...which is fine but we have the same height and riding ability so I dunno... It seemed a bit pedantic. The tour itself and tour guides were really nice! They were knowledgable and friendly. The food was great and we practiced lassoing :-)
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Im sorry you had issues booking through Trip Advisor, we will take a look at how it is presented and see if we can make it easier. We are glad you enjoyed the ride.
star-1
Be careful what you really sign up for
psfrierson1
, Aug 2019
I had signed up to ride horses and when we got there they said we had signed up to ride in the covered wagon. This place has 300 horses so what would have been the big deal to saddle 2 more horses?? It is the same price. Covered wagon ride not that great. Maybe for a 5 year old or 80 year old! No refunds were offered. I would not record this!!! Not happy
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Im sorry you were not happy. I am unsure how you booked so can not comment on that side. We do have 300 horses but these are spread out over multiple trips including backcountry and 2 stables and include 70 mules. Our horses are also rotated to have days off just like our staff so its not always possible to get extra horses. I apologize for the confusion.
star-3
Not quite what we hoped
Cindy C
, Aug 2019
First, you need to be at the registration 45 mins or so before the ride. We weren't and the staff's patience was appreciated and hence this my advice. The rides were very large about 20 (but I did not count them) plus 3 guides. The pace was dreadfully slow. The ride out was kind of boring. The supper was good. The crew all tries to engage with the group but by the end of the day it appears most are ready to leave (not really a criticism- more of an observation). The food was good and at a level of expectation. This is not Ruth-Chris Steakhouse. The ride back was very slow. The trail back was lovely with climbs, descents and meadows. Always maintain a single file orientation. If you want real slow this is for you. Idea if you have children.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
I appreciate your comments, Im sorry it was not what you expected but I do not believe we advertised anything different than we deliver. We do walk on the trails and this is for everyones safety.
star-3
Not as good as the previous time
ruthannagetsmail
, Jul 2019
My party of three opted for the Steak Ride. One hour of horseback riging to the cooksite called 3 Mile, and another way back for an hour on horseback. 3/4 of the first hour was spent with the horses slogging through a foot deep of mud. Not so pleasant a ride. My steak was fine but the other two were not. The hour back was pleasant enough. Heavy rain for weeks created the muddy environment and also prevented us from going up the mountain as the decent wold have been dangerous. Having taken this ride before, I know that scaling the mountain leads to much more interesting views and photos. Again in life, timing is everything! My guests were happy that we had done the event though, despite the drawbacks. Staff were very friendly and excellent riders. We felt safe.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for the feedback and understanding of the trail conditions due to record rain this season.
star-5
Covered wagon ride and cookout
burningham4
, Jul 2019
Awesome experience and cookout was excellent. Great bang for the buck if you’re looking for a relaxing ride through nature and a fantastic meal! A big thank to our hosts!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed the cookout.
star-5
Do it!
Fsnegirev
, Jul 2019
Love that all the horses are rescues. Some of the guides are friendlier than others. Slow paced ride. Good dinner, beautiful views!
star-4
Nice evening.
travelwynn2019
, Jul 2019
Was raining so very glad in covered wagon. Food was really good with great staff. Certainly alot better than expected.
star-5
Wonderful Experience
kimthodge
, Jul 2019
The guides were so friendly & helpful and the steak diner was Awesome!!! Even though it started to rain when we loaded up in the wagon...this adventure was wonderful!!

Product code: 12217P14

Explore Similar Things to Do